Open Educational Resources

Free trade agreements (FTAs) have dominated global trade for over a decade. This dominance is likely to continue for many years on every continent. Already, more than half of all international trade takes place under FTAs. Principles of Free Trade Agreements, from GATT 1947 through NAFTA Re-Negotiated 2018 examines the origins of free trade agreements (FTAs) and customs unions (CUs) in Article 24 of the GATT 1947 agreement. Article 24 permits but attempts to regulate their creation, an effort that failed early on. A sleeping giant for decades, FTAs were re-awakened by the path-breaking Canada-U.S. FTA of 1989. In 1994, NAFTA triggered an onslaught of hundreds of FTAs around the globe, overwhelming the impact of the establishment of the World Trade Organization in 1995. The coverage, trade rules and trade remedies of the world’s FTAs are remarkably and complexly diverse. Perhaps surprisingly, the hostility of President Trump to multilateral trade agreements like TPP-12, the WTO, the EU and NAFTA 1994, caused the number of FTAs to increase. America’s trade partners and competitors rushed to secure trade deals not involving the USA. TPP-11, the Japan-EU FTA, the expanded Mexico-EU FTA, and the China-driven RCEP provide excellent examples. Meanwhile, despite being characterized by President Trump as “the worst trade deal ever”, the United States, Canada and Mexico completed re-negotiation of NAFTA in 2018. All of this, and more, is covered in this book. Designed for students, lawyers, government officials and people in business, the author addresses the interests not only of Americans, but also those located outside the USA who are concerned about the law and economics of free trade agreements.

This course is a survey of contemporary human rights law and politics. A consistent focus is how the United States relates to the international human rights system. The course also takes up the ways in which both the international system and the rights jurisprudence of other countries might differ from approaches in American law, as for example in regional protection, the regulation of religious practice, or socioeconomic rights adjudication.

This is an experimental open-source casebook assembled through the H2O platform of Harvard Law School's Berkman Center Center for Internet & Society. The materials included here are intended to be used as the main casebook for an introductory course on International Public Law. This casebook can be accessed and used online or exported for printing, whatever is most convenient to the students.

This text on transnational civil litigation presents the basic legal doctrine within a larger, illuminating conceptual framework. The book organizes the subject around three basic concepts: national sovereignty, individual rights, and political accountability. After highlighting the unique problems of litigation across national boundaries, the book explores the essential role of individual rights, especially due process and substantive human rights. It then examines the role of the political branches of government in enacting the statutes and treaties that govern transnational litigation. These three concepts play out in the following chapters: (A) Introductory chapters on jurisdiction in three different senses: personal jurisdiction; prescriptive jurisdiction (especially extraterritoriality); and federal subject-matter jurisdiction. (B) A chapter on foreign sovereigns as litigants, concerned with sovereign immunity and the act of state doctrine. (C)Two chapters on procedure in pending cases, one on service of process and discovery, and another on parallel proceedings, concerned with forum non conveniens, stays, and anti-suit injunctions. (D) Two final chapters addressed to the resolution of disputes, through recognition of foreign judgments and enforcement of arbitration agreements and awards.

Principles of International Litigation and Arbitration, 2d is part of West Academic Publishing’s Concise Hornbook series. Its coverage commences with international dispute settlement Alternatives and Fundamentals, including Choice of Law, Choice of Forum and Forum Non Conveniens issues. Chapters 3 and 4 focus on International Commercial Arbitration and Foreign Investment Arbitration. International Business Litigation is examined in five chapters: Jurisdiction, Procedure, Sovereign Defenses, Enforcement of Judgments and the EU Litigation System. Chapter 10 finishes with Intergovernmental Trade Dispute Settlement. Principles of International Litigation and Arbitration, 2d contains considerable depth, analysis, citations and related documents. It can be used in connection with any international dispute settlement course book. Principles can also be used independently as an inexpensive course book, notably in conjunction with the legal documents appended at the end of its chapters.

This fully-updated third edition provides a comprehensive survey of public international law, with useful references throughout to current events, classic and contemporary cases and scholarship. It is designed as a stand-alone text or as a complement to all the major casebooks on the topic. The first part of the book addresses how international law is created, interpreted and enforced; the second part focuses on the interface of international law and national law; and the final part covers key subject matter areas: human rights, injury to aliens, the law of the sea, international environmental law, international criminal law, and the use of force.

The Fourth Edition of Principles of International Business Transactions provides a more comprehensive examination of the law relevant to the subject matter and detailed citations to caselaw and other supporting authorities. It can be used by courts and legal practitioners as a resource for research and analysis, as well as by students and professors as a supplement for any international business law course. It tracks the authors' popular problem-oriented coursebook, International Business Transactions, and their three spin-offs Contracting Across Borders, Trade and Economic Relations and Foreign Investment Law. Coverage moves sequentially from structuring international sales transactions to international sales law and letters of credit to regulation of international trade to transfers of technology to foreign investment to international business dispute settlement.

Principles of International Trade Law commences with coverage of the World Trade Organization and its many agreements, followed by Customs and Import/Export Law, and ends with coverage of Technology Transfers across Borders. Principles is intended to provide considerably more depth, analysis, citations and related documents than found in a Nutshell. Principles of International Trade Law can be used in connection with any international trade or international business transactions coursebook, or on its own. Key trade law documents are included.

This fully revised, classic treatise explores the historical evolution and contemporary intricacies of international law. Still incisive and irreverent, it remains a readable and yet nuanced text for a variety of audiences, including university and law school students, practitioners, researchers, and others who want to know what international law is and what it does in the twenty-first century. The fourth edition features new authorship and weaves in-depth considerations of key cases, core disputes, and essential international agreements into a broad overview of all important aspects of the subject. Readers will find an authoritative discussion of traditional topics such as the sources of international law and the methods of international dispute resolution alongside cutting-edge issues such as cyberwarfare, global migration, climate change, and the evolving law of jurisdiction and immunities in domestic courts.