Open Educational Resources

Authored by UGA School of Law faculty Hillel Levin, this eLangdell chapter includes a teacher's manual. Faculty and staff at CALI member schools can access these faculty-only materials by logging in to eLangdell with their normal cali.org username and password. This chapter covers the Civil Procedure topic of Pleading: The Plaintiff’s Complaint. The chapter takes approximately four class periods to cover in detail. Word and PDF versions are available completely for free, as well as a low cost print copy for $3.50.

In this practical guidebook former district attorney and director of the University of Georgia's School of Law Prosecutorial Justice Program Alan Cook shares his personal wisdom and advice gathered from his decades of experience into a single volume. The handbook includes introductions to each chapter topic, plus both quick and detailed reference sections on all aspects of criminal law and procedure. It also includes useful appendices with step-by-step practice guides for how to perform specific prosecutorial tasks (such as how to take a guilty plea). Law student testimonies from now seasoned attorneys at the start of the book indicate the potential for this set of resources to students interested in becoming prosecutors as well as those already practicing.

Authored by UGA School of Law's own legal writing instructor Jean Mangan in 2021, this textbook was created under a Round 19 Mini-Grant. It is hosted on the Open ALG (Affordable Learning Georgia) Projects platform. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. Visit the book's home platform at OpenALG to retrieve a Word Doc version.

This open source textbook authored by Amy Taylor was designed to provide University of Georgia School of Law students with a comprehensive guide to Georgia legal research. Using this text in combination with appropriate assignments, student objectives include the ability to select, evaluate, and use appropriate legal research tools with an emphasis on cost-effective research and proficiency in the following topics: Developing an efficient and cost effective research strategy; Advanced searching skills in legal research databases; Case law, including docket research, court rules, and verdicts & settlements; Statutory law, including legislative materials and legislative history; Administrative regulations, rules, and related materials; Practice materials, including litigation and transactional tools; Competitive Intelligence & business information; Local & municipal law; Legal ethics; Free and low cost internet legal resources.

Version 6.0 continues to provide engaging and challenging coverage of all the major types of intellectual property law: trade secret, patent, copyright, and trademark law. Covering cases and developments through Spring 2018, the Sixth Edition includes all the latest Supreme Court cases that are vital to a survey course. Each chapter continues to optimize clear presentation of tightly edited cases and concise notes and questions. The book kicks off with an introductory chapter that explores the basic policies animating intellectual property law, and concludes with two overarching chapters—one on intellectual property limits (preemption and first sale), and one on remedies (redressing past harm and preventing future harm). This book is designed to guide student analysis, as well as to challenge students to make vital connections within and across doctrines and policies. Finally, the authors—both veteran teachers of the intellectual property law survey course—offer a comprehensive Teacher's Manual on request.

Written and edited by expert practitioners, this tome reframes traditional approaches to law librarianship while expounding on emerging theories and themes permeating society and education, demanding incorporation into the library science curriculum. We also have an opportunity with this open-access e-textbook to reach beyond our borders. Librarianship is one of the oldest professions in the world. Well before universities, law firms, and courts of law were established, libraries flourished, and librarians were the keepers of knowledge. Librarians have built collections, shared resources, and supported research for hundreds, if not thousands, of years.

The first edition of the Legal Writing Manual was made possible with funding from the University of Georgia’s Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost’s Affordable Materials Course Grant. The second edition of this manual was made possible with funding from an Affordable Learning Georgia Round 18 Continuous Improvement Grant. List of contributors: Brittany BlanchardGabrielle GravelChase LyndaleConnely Doizé

This is Volume 1 of a two volume set written for Property Law. From the Preface: Property, as a vaguely defined collection of contract, tort, and criminal cases, does not take on the natural structure of a substantive area of the law through the systematic study of duty, breach, causation, defenses, and damages. Instead this textbook and most Property courses survey various topics in law with two goals in mind. First, we will study a number of traditional property topics, those where the issue of "ownership" and what that entails have long been thought to be a central issue. Second, but most importantly, our interdisciplinary study will introduce some of the major analytical techniques in law, from reasoning using precedent to law and economics to distributive justice. As we roam among topics, our goal is always, relentlessly to ask, "Why?" "Why should the law protect this party's interest?" These major techniques that we will pick up along the way will help us provide better and better answers to this question.

This is Volume 2 of a two volume set written for Property Law. From the Preface to Volume 1: Property, as a vaguely defined collection of contract, tort, and criminal cases, does not take on the natural structure of a substantive area of the law through the systematic study of duty, breach, causation, defenses, and damages. Instead this textbook and most Property courses survey various topics in law with two goals in mind. First, we will study a number of traditional property topics, those where the issue of "ownership" and what that entails have long been thought to be a central issue. Second, but most importantly, our interdisciplinary study will introduce some of the major analytical techniques in law, from reasoning using precedent to law and economics to distributive justice. As we roam among topics, our goal is always, relentlessly to ask, "Why?" "Why should the law protect this party's interest?" These major techniques that we will pick up along the way will help us provide better and better answers to this question.

My goal in creating this casebook is to do my part to make legal education more affordable, accessible, and adaptable. That’s why I’m making the book available to all for free. By using a CC BY-NC license, I’m also inviting others to adapt these materials for their own use, so long as they adhere to the non-commerciality and attribution terms. (Anyone interested in “remixing” this book for their own purposes should feel free to contact me, including if you’d like a more adaptable non-PDF version.) You’re welcome to print any part of this casebook if you want a hard copy to accompany the digital version. If you do print it, I ask that you please be environmentally conscious by using double-sided pages. Because the digital version can be easily searched, it contains no index or other finding aids that are conventional for printed books. You should also be able to enhance your experience with the digital version by highlighting text, adding comments, and annotating it in other ways you find helpful. To see the syllabus accompanying this casebook, please visit www.thomaskadri.com/torts.