Open Educational Resources

Available through CALI's eLangdell platform, the 3rd edition is truly digital and completely free to access and download. This casebook was created to train lawyers for the practice of bankruptcy law. It is designed for a one-semester course in debtor/creditor law and bankruptcy. The book deals with both creditor remedies and debtor protections, starting with state law collection remedies, exemptions, and the important special protections for secured creditors under both Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code and state real property recording acts. After a thorough review of state law debt collection practice, the book covers the basics of straight bankruptcy law with a focus on Chapter 7 of the Bankruptcy Code, both for individuals and businesses. Although the book has a practice focus, it covers the major Supreme Court cases, and important appellate cases with an emphasis on areas of uncertainty. The book also emphasizes the Bankruptcy Code itself, using problem sets to get students to work through the language of the Bankruptcy Code.

This Hornbook comprehensive text is available to you through the law school library West Academic account. It provides an exhaustive analysis and discussion of every aspect of bankruptcy law, including an overview of bankruptcy; invoking bankruptcy relief (with a very detailed explanation of the means test); the automatic stay; jurisdiction and procedure; property of the estate; trustee's avoiding powers; payment of claims; executory contracts and unexpired leases; exemptions; discharge; reorganization under Chapter 11; debt adjustments under Chapter 13; debt adjustments under Chapter 12; and cross-border cases under chapter 15. The 2005 BAPCPA amendments and the extensive case law thereunder are explained and critiqued. All relevant Supreme Court cases through the 2015 Term are discussed in depth, including, for example, Stern, Wellness, Arkison, Caulkett, Schwab, Ransom, Lanning, Baker Botts, and many more.

This Hornbook Treatise is available from your law school library West Academic account: This book focuses on the material covered in a typical law school course on Bankruptcy. It covers both business and consumer bankruptcy. The book explains basic bankruptcy concepts and then uses those concepts to make code provisions understandable.

This text is available through West Academic Study Aids law school library collection: Widely cited and authoritative, Elements of Bankruptcy provides a comprehensive introduction to the basic principles of bankruptcy law. In addition to covering foundational questions such as the fresh start for individuals, property of the estate, executory contracts, adequate protection, preferences, and fraudulent conveyances, this book also covers such cutting-edge issues such as debtor-in-possession financing, plan support agreements, carve-outs, credit-bidding, and first-day orders. The sixth edition also takes stock of the developments in bankruptcy in the wake of the 2008 financial crisis, including the rise of municipal bankruptcies in Detroit and elsewhere, as well as developments from the Supreme Court, including the fallout from Stern v. Marshall and Executive Benefits Insurance Agency v. Arkison.

This resource is available through your law school library by accessing your Westlaw account with username and password. Bankruptcy Law Fundamentals features authoritative discussions on the following topics: Diminished super discharge in Chapter 13 in response to Congress, adding injuries caused by drunk driving, educational loans, and restitution imposed after conviction of a crime to the exceptions from the super discharge; Cram down and a recent circuit court decision splitting the secured and unsecured parts of a residential mortgage debt; Administration of the bankruptcy estate and what constitutes entitlement to special protection under Bankruptcy Code §365; Whether members of creditors' committees are entitled to reimbursement for their expenses; Discharge available to individual debtors, taking into account recent statutory and judicial developments. It also features: The new law and cases added to highlight BAPCPA changes and an entire chapter devoted to United States Supreme Court cases discussing bankruptcy law.

This treatise on bankruptcy is available through you law school library by accessing your Bloomberg Law account with username and password.