Open Educational Resources

This text is available through Bloomberg Law. Account required, but access provided by the law library.

This text is available through Bloomberg Law. Account required, but access provided by the law library.

This text is available through Bloomberg Law. Account required, but access provided by the law library.

This is the standard text on labor arbitration that no labor relations specialist, union representative, labor law attorney, professor, or arbitrator should be without. Elkouri & Elkouri: How Arbitration Works is the most comprehensive and authoritative treatise available on this subject. The reference of first resort, it has been utilized and cited by advocates, arbitrators, and judges more than any other arbitration book published. This essential reference for labor relations practitioners covers issues including retiree health insurance, employer intellectual property protections, union recognition, and more. References include citations to hundreds of arbitration awards and judicial decisions. It includes tables of all discussed or cited arbitration awards, statutory authorities, and arbitrators.

This book is an essential read for mediators, arbitrators, students, attorneys, policy makers, business people, and other professionals involved with cross-border interactions. It provides a comprehensive and cutting-edge overview of topics that are essential for informed decision making about resolving disputes in our global landscape. Although arbitration has traditionally been widely-used to resolve disputes internationally, mediation is increasingly considered an attractive option that gives parties control over the process they use and the outcome they decide upon. The book covers the latest developments in court-connected and mandatory forms of mediation, cultural considerations, legal issues and regulation, ethical challenges, combining mediation with other processes, mediation of investor-state disputes, innovative trends in process and system design, and peacemaking mediation. The book is designed to stand on its own or provide a supplement in traditional dispute resolution courses. It is appropriate for those who want an introduction as well as for those seeking insightful analyses of the most recent developments in the field.

The Concise Hornbook Principles of Arbitration Law is an authoritative and extensively cited treatise on arbitration. It thoroughly discusses general arbitration law—from federal preemption of state law to the formation, performance, and enforcement of arbitration agreements—and provides in-depth coverage of specialized law governing international arbitration and labor arbitration. The last few decades have witnessed the growth of a large body of legal doctrine—from statutes, judicial decisions, and other sources—focused on arbitration. This Concise Hornbook summarizes that body of law, so should be useful to lawyers and scholars researching arbitration law and to students learning about arbitration. This Concise Hornbook is designed to be used as the primary or secondary text in a law school course. Many teachers of arbitration design their courses to develop a wide array of practice skills, generally through the use of role-playing exercises. Because this book is clear and concise, students reading it can quickly gain a solid understanding of arbitration’s central concepts and legal doctrines. This efficient use of time enables the teacher to devote many class sessions to role-playing exercises, and discussion of them. This Concise Hornbook can also serve as the primary text for arbitration seminars. Before venturing into a field of scholarship, students generally need a solid foundation in the field’s central concepts and legal doctrines. This book provides that foundation with only a limited amount of reading, thus enabling students to devote substantial time to the seminar’s more-advanced work of reading scholarly articles and writing original papers.

Provides a clear and reliable statement of the law and concepts central to ADR (arbitration, negotiation, mediation, and other processes). Its thorough coverage of arbitration law renders this challenging and rapidly-changing body of statutes and case law accessible to the student or lawyer. The chapters on negotiation and mediation treat the subjects from the perspectives of theory, practice, and legal doctrine.

This text is available through Westlaw. Account required, but access provided by the law library.