Skip to Main Content

Student Journals Guide

This guide is intended as a resource for editors of the student-led journals at the University of Georgia School of Law. It includes frequently asked questions about topic selection, cite checking, ILL, and more.

Executive Board Resources

This guide is intended as a resource for executive board members of the student-led journals at the University of Georgia School of Law. It includes frequently asked questions related to the roles and responsibilities of executive board positions.

 

Digital Publishing 101

Executive board members are responsible for understanding and ensuring the smooth process of digital publication of their respective journal. A part of this process at UGA Law includes:

  1. Opening your journal Scholastica site up for submissions in a timely way.
  2. Preparing TOC, Articles, Notes and other sections as PDFs.
  3. Uploading completed issue PDFs to your journal Digital Commons site (online editors follow uploading steps).
  4. Working with librarians to publish issues online (review your journal's librarian liaison contact information).
  5. Notifying major database providers that the journal is published and available (these instructions enable databases like Westlaw and HeinOnline to scrape and harvest your journal's latest issues making them discoverable).
  6. Notifying authors and publicizing to other stakeholders that new issues have been published (this includes social media marketing, informing the rest of the journal editorial board members, and more).

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Questions?

This collection of procedures was created by Journal Specialist Katie Voyles and Metadata Services & Special Collections Librarian Rachel Evans for use by all UGA School of Law journal executive board members. If you have questions about the uploading, publishing, or notification of database providers and authors processes that are not answered here, please contact them at:

University of Georgia Law Library |  University of Georgia  |  Non-Discrimination Policy  |  Privacy Policy  | Contact Site Administrator 
225 Herty Drive Athens, GA 30602-6012 | (706) 542-5077 | University of Georgia School of Law.  All rights reserved.