Skip to main content

Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot Team: Databases, Research Guides, Links

Vis Competition Site & Relevant Rules

Competition Tips, Research Guides & Manuals

A Guide to the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot - prepared by the Center for International Legal Education at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law .

The chapter on International Commercial Arbitration in the American Society of International Law's Electronic Resource Guide provides an excellent research guide covering international agreements, conventions, and treaties; international and regional arbitral institutions;internet domain name disputes; national arbitration statutes; commercial databases; and blogs and alert services.

Research In International Commercial Arbitration: Special Skills, Special Sources - article in American Review of International Arbitration

Debriefing: University of Buenos Aires winning the 23rd Willem C. VIS Moot - blog entry re the 2016 winning team

 

Electronic Research Guides 

1. Globalex's International Commercial Arbitration Guide - This research guide covers: primary sources of arbitration law, national laws, arbitration rules, arbitral awards, secondary sources, a list of arbitral institutions, and further reading. 

2. International Arbitration: Peace Palace Library Research Guide - Peace Palace Library is an international library serving  the international legal community. This guide provides open access to various publications, blogs, databases and links. 

3. International Commercial Arbitration Research Guide - This guide is prepared by Georgetown Law Library and introduces researchers to primary and secondary sources for international commercial arbitration research. 

4. Harvard University International Arbitration Research - This research guide includes an arbitration research training video and a variation of sources such as legal dictionaries, introductory treaties and official websites of relevant organizations. 

Databases & Web sites

1. KluwerArbitration.com - EXCELLENT subscription database linked from the Law Library's Research Resources page. Provides access to treatises, journals, international agreements, rules, arbitration blog.

2. Pace Law School's CISG Database - very useful free database containing text of the CISG, cases discussing the CISG (arranged by jurisdiction and CISG article), scholarly articles, article-by-article guides to the CISG, and legislative history documents for the CISG. Also provides case law regarding UNCITRAL Model Law.

3. UNCITRAL - United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, a UN entity striving for modernization and harmonization of rules on international business.
Site includes:

4. UNIDROIT - International Institute for Unification of Private Law
Site includes:

  • UNILEX - case law (including arbitral awards) related to various UNIDROIT instruments and the CISG

5. CISG Advisory Council - The CISG-AC is a private initiative which aims at promoting a uniform interpretation of the CISG. Their advisory opinions can be helpful.

6. Oxford Legal Research Library on International Commercial Arbitration - subscription database providing access to treatises that cover the key arbitral bodies and jurisdictions as well as a number of officially recognized and endorsed texts providing coverage of the rules of particular arbitral bodies. Also included are a number of key treatises looking at specific areas of international arbitration practice in more depth with topics ranging from consent and annulment through to the calculation of damages.

7. A number of arbitration-related materials, including international agreements and rules, are accessible via the EISIL database in the International Commercial Arbitration category.

8. Trans-Lex - Provides a systematic online-compilation of over 130 principles and rules of transnational commercial law. Includes black letter text and comprehensive comparative references taken from international arbitral awards, domestic statutes and court decisions, international conventions, soft law instruments including international restatements of contract law, standard contract forms and contract clauses taken from international one-off contracts, trade practices and usages, and academic sources. Also provides commentary on each principle.

Blogs

University of Georgia Law LibraryUniversity of Georgia  |  Non-Discrimination Policy  |  Privacy Policy  | Contact Site Administrator 
225 Herty Drive Athens, GA 30602-6012 | (706) 542-5077 | University of Georgia School of Law.  All rights reserved.