LibGuides: Federal Judiciary: U.S. Supreme Court

REFERENCE DESK

Research Resources

Phone: 706-542-6591

Email: lawref@uga.edu

º GAVEL online catalog
º Law Library website
º Library Hours
º Reference Services

Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS)

Supreme Court of the United States
This is the official website of the Supreme Court of the United States. This website contains opinions from the 1991 term up through the latest slips.
This site also provides dockets, court rules and other information about the Supreme Court.
The Supreme Court Database
over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2014 terms. Data points include parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.

HeinOnline U.S. Supreme Court Library This link opens in a new window
Complete run of opinions from 1754 to present, in PDF format. Off-campus access available to law school members. Other UGA users may access the HeinOnline library through GALILEO.

Public Library of Law - PLoL
he Public Library of Law contains cases from 1754 to the present. This free website permits users to search Supreme Court opinions within specific date ranges and to perform keyword searches.

ProQuest Supreme Court Insight This link opens in a new window
Find briefs, dockets, joint appendixes, oral arguments, opinions and other documents for U.S. Supreme Court cases from 1975-present.

CQ Supreme Court Collection
The Congressional Quarterly Supreme Court Collection allows users to generate tailored analyses concerning Opinion Alignment and Voting Blocs, under Analyze Data.

Supporting Documents

In addition to the court opinions, researchers often find the supporting documentation attached to each case useful. These include the briefs from parties and oral arguments. These materials are sometimes available as supplemental files for a case within WESTLAW and LEXIS and are also available from the following sources:

Briefs

ABA Preview of U.S. Supreme Court Cases
- The American Bar Association provides free access to merit and amicus briefs for Supreme Court cases going back to the 2003 term.

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
Nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs

Oral Arguments

Oyez Project
- The Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.

Supreme Court of the United States
The Court provides transcripts of oral arguments from 2000 to the present, under Oral Arguments.

Secondary Resources

History of the Federal Judicary
- This website operated by the Federal Judicial Center provides a history of the Supreme Court, biographies of Supreme Court Justices, and information about landmark cases.

SCOTUSblog
devoted to comprehensively covering the U.S. Supreme Court without bias and according to the highest journalistic and legal ethical standards.