LibGuides: Banking Regulation (JURI 5470): Home

Books at the Main Library

Law students tend to forget we have a major research library just a few yards away. Many useful non-law specific print and online resources are available. Search the UGA Libraries collections and GALILEO@ UGA (a statewide collection of databases)

Financial Market Regulation: Legislation and Implications, John A. Tatom, ed. (eBook)

Lawless Capitalism: The Subprime Crisis and the Case for an Economic Rule of Law, Steven A. Ramirez

Research Tip: Use the Subject Terms in the record for any of these titles to find related materials. Limit by date or type. Also finding items by the same author can be a way to expand your research. Just click on the author's name.

Online Treatises and Current Awareness

Generally our databases have a number of relevant titles, those listed below are just the beginning. There are often titles for specific states, foreign countries, international transactions, and specific types of transactions. Browse through the sources or ask for help to locate a relevant title.

Bloomberg BNA

BNA's Banking Daily and Banking Report offer the latest news and analysis of banking legislation, regulatory requirements, and litigation at state and federal levels, from Capitol Hill to key financial centers around the world.

CCH Intelliconnect

Federal Banking Law Reporter - The Federal Banking Law Reporter provides comprehensive guidance on the federal regulation of banks and thrifts. It includes full texts of laws and regulations, as well as expert analyses and explanations by CCH editors.

LEXIS - login to your Lexis account and then access the title

ABA Banking Journal
- Also see the ABA Banking Journal website for good current awareness information
Bank Holding Company Compliance Manual 2nd Ed. (Table of Contents)
Banking Law (Table of Contents) - An exhaustive treatise bringing together essential information on the regulation, organization, operation, examination and liquidation of commercial banks.
Banking Law Manual 2nd Ed.: Federal Regulation of Financial Holding Companies, Banks and Thrifts (Table of Contents)

WESTLAW

Bank Compliance Guide
Banking Law & Regulation - Incisive discussion and analysis of banking laws and regulations.
Federal Banking Law Reporter
Law and Regulation of Financial Institutions

PRACTICING LAW INSTITUTE

Banking Law Institute 2014

Books at the Law Library

Recent Acquisitions for Banking Law

Research Tip: Use the Subject Terms in the record for any of these titles to find related materials. Limit by date or type. Also finding items by the same author can be a way to expand your research. Just click on the author's name.

Bank Secrecy ACT by Lilian B. Klein
Call Number: KF1030.R3 B36 2007 Balcony
The Currency and Foreign Transactions Reporting Act, also known as the Bank Secrecy Act (BSA), and its implementing regulation, 31 CFR 103, is a tool the U.S. government uses to fight drug trafficking, money laundering, and other crimes. The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) monitors national bank compliance with the BSA and 31 CFR 103. Since its passage, Congress has amended the BSA a number of times to enhance law enforcement effectiveness.
Banking and Financial Institutions Law in a Nutshell by William A. Lovett
Call Number: KF975 .L68 2009 Balcony
Authoritative coverage provides a foundation for understanding recent developments in banking and financial institutions. Text covers subjects such as increased competition, deregulation, bank and thrift failures, large-scale bailout, and restructuring efforts.
Banks, Securities and the Volcker Rule by Nicole A. Garcia
Call Number: KF968.6 .B36 2011 Balcony
This book discusses the permissible proprietary trading activities of commercial banks and their subsidiaries under current law and then analyses the Volcker Rule proposals under the House and Senate passed financial reform bills.
Federal Banking Law and Regulations by Harding De C Williams
Call Number: KF969 2006 Balcony
This easy-to-read guidebook is designed for lawyers who are new to banking law or are very seasoned practitioners who on occasion need to research banking law issues. The focus of the guidebook is to show how major bank regulations are structured and how they apply to different types of institutions and holding companies.
Principles of Bank Regulation by Michael Molloy
Call Number: KF974 .M35 2003 Balcony
Comprehensive, yet intelligible treatment of the basic rules, principles, statutes, and issues governing the law of bank regulation. Examines the rapid pace of development in depository institution regulation, and how federal statutes governing banking have been subject to constant amendment in recent years. Discusses the growing overlap in competition among depository institutions, insurance companies, and securities firms that has further complicated regulatory policy.
The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act by Susan A. Berson; Dave Berson
Call Number: KF969.58201 .A2 2012 Balcony
The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act was signed on July 21, 2010 to prevent a recurrence of 2008's dramatic implosion of large financial institutions, credit market disruption, taxpayer funded bailouts and an economic recession, but certain banking related provisions of Dodd-Frank have nothing to do with responding to the financial crisis. Moreover, Congressional leaders swept a few things into the 2,319 pages of legislation that are beyond the banking world, making the process of interpreting, drafting and implementing regulations even more complicated and time-consuming for regulators.
The Keys to Banking Law by Karol K. Sparks; Harding C. Williams
Call Number: KF974 .S66 2012
This handbook provides you with a thorough history of banking law and will guide you through today's system of financial regulation that is unlike anything else in the world. Banks are special entities, and lawyers representing banks need to understand their client's specific structure, importance of capital, and the new language that has formed. In addition, a banking law reference list is included at the end of the book with numerous acronyms and jargon to help you understand the new "Bank Speak."
The New Financial Deal by David Skeel; William D. Cohan (Foreword by)
Call Number: KF969.58201 .A2 2011 Reserve
The good, the bad, and the scary of Washington's attempt to reform Wall Street. In The New Financial Deal , author David Skeel offers an in-depth look at the new financial reforms and questions whether they will bring more effective regulation of contemporary finance or simply cement the partnership between government and the largest banks. To understand what American financial life is likely to look like in five, ten, or twenty years, and how regulators will respond to the next crisis, we need to understand Dodd-Frank. The New Financial Deal provides that understanding, breaking down both what Dodd-Frank says and what it all means.

Selected Statutes

Banking Act of 1933, also known as the Glass-Steagal Act (Pub. L. 73-66) (1933)

Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (Pub.L. 111–203) (2010)

Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008 (P.L. 110-343) (2008)

Financial Services Modernization Act of 1999, also known as Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (P.L. 106-102) (1999)

Government Agencies

Federal Reserve

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve oversees state-chartered banks and trust companies that belong to the Federal Reserve System.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation regulates state-chartered banks that do not belong to the Federal Reserve System.

Office of the Comptroller of the Currency

The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency regulates banks that have the word "National" in or the letters "N.A." after their names. On July 21, 2011, supervisory responsibility for federal savings and loans and federal savings banks switched to the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

National Credit Union Administration

The National Credit Union Administration regulates federally charted credit unions.