Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Georgia Law Contact
Please send me any questions re research resources! Anne Burnett, firstname.lastname@example.org.
While you are in Oxford, you will have access to most of the electronic resources that you can access here.
If you find that you need a chapter from a hard copy book or an article in a journal not available to you online, we can usually scan and email it to you.
If you want to learn, or brush up on, a foreign language, go to this link to create an account and password for Pronunciator
Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg
Access your Westlaw, Lexis and Bloomberg accounts exactly as you do here.
The only difference is that you will need to use an attached printer for all three (no free Lexis printouts there).
You have access to a number of e-Books through the Law Library's catalog, GAVEL, and the Main Library's catalog, GIL.
Useful Free Databases
EISIL - points researchers to the highest quality primary materials, authoritative web sites and helpful research guides to international law on the Internet
Ecolex - access to national environmental laws and court decisions
EurLex - the portal to European Union Law
Globalex - research guides for most nations and international law subjects
Natlex - access to national labor laws
WIPO Lex - access to national IP laws
UN Treaty Collection - contains the United Nations Treaty Series, status of treaties, recent developments
General Resources on Scholarly Legal Writing
Foreign & International Databases Accessible by UGA Law Oxford Participants
You should be able to access these databases, organized alphabetically, using your UGA login. Let me know if you have any difficulty and I'll trouble shoot at this end.
- Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law - The Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law is a classic reference tool with > 2500 entries.
- Foreign Law Guide - current sources of codes and basic legislation in jurisdictions of the world
- Global Arbitration Review - international arbitration law journal and news service
- Hein Online
- U.S. Foreign Relations - official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. It is comprised of more than 600 books beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Ronald Reagan in 1988.
- Session Laws from Canada and Australia
- International Yearbooks
- U.S. law digests
- International tribunals/judicial decisions
- Significant works related to foreign & international law
- English Reports, full reprint 1220-1865 - exact page images of the original bound reprint edition, containing more than 100,000 cases, together with indexes and other finding tools. Also includes the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713), along with Pre-1865 Law Reports.
- European Center for Minority Issues - The ECMI conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe.
- Philip C. Jessup Library
- World Trials - contains thousands of trials including complete sets of American State Trials, Howell's State Trials, and the Nuremburg Trials; also includes famous trials from Philadelphia's Jenkins Law Library, Cornell University, and the University of Missouri-Columbia's trials collections. It contains trial transcripts, critical court documents, and trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials, as well as biographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history.
- Kluwer Law international journals - Contains 23 Kluwer Law International Journals including: Air and Space Law, Arbitration International, World Trade and Arbitration Materials, International Journal of Comparative Labour Law & Industrial Relations, European Public Law, European Review of Private Law, and Legal Issues of Economic Integration.
- UN Law Collection - major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more. Finding Aids and additional features make it easy to pull up a UN Treaty by entering a UNTS Citation, search for a UN Treaty, and link to law review articles that cite a UN Treaty.
- World Constitutions Illustrated - includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for countries such as Australia, Brazil, China, France, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and many more. It also includes constitutional periodicals, thousands of classic books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.
- U.S. International Trade Library - Featuring the exchange of goods and services between the United States and other nations, as well as the history of Section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930, this collection brings together nearly two million pages' worth of content.
- Human Rights Documents - full text documents from worldwide NGOs
- ICLR Online - case law from the Superior and Appellate Courts in England and Wales
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals - index of more than 450 publications from 1985 to present
- Justis - full text UK & Irish Case Law, UK Statute Law, and EU information
- JustCite - a legal search engine and citator service that cross-references case law, legislation and journal articles
- KluwerArbitration - international commercial arbitration documents - note: initial registration must be completed on a Law School computer – if you think you’ll be working on an arbitration issue, please register here now so that you can have access while in Oxford.
- The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926 - digital archive of international and foreign law materials, including treatises
- The Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 1600-1970 - historical legal codes, statutes, regulations and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany and other northern European countries
- Manupatra - Indian legal and business information
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law - highly regarded encyclopedia with a comprehensive collection of articles on every aspect of public international law; articles include links to related cases and additional materials
- NatLaw-World database - inter-American free trade materials (formerly InterAm); includes trade-related materials in subjects including labor and environmental law
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Human Rights - comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace - comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict
- Oxford Legal Research Library - International Commercial Arbitration - includes texts that cover the key arbitral bodies and jurisdictions as well as a number of officially recognized and endorsed texts providing coverage of the rules of particular arbitral bodies. Also included are a number of key treatises looking at specific areas of international arbitration practice in more depth with topics ranging from consent and annulment through to the calculation of damages.
- Oxford Reports on International Law - decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals
- Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law - contains full-text online editions of Oxford University Press reference works and treatises on public international law, such as Oppenheim, and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law
- VLex Global - legislation, cases, legal journals and e-books, news and forms from various countries and jurisdictions
- Westlaw China - (formerly iSinolaw) bilingual database containing Chinese legislation and case law, commentary, model contracts, legal glossary
Bodleian Law Library
Your program fee includes library privileges. The Bodleian Law Library does not check out its print collection but these resources can be used within the library, and they provide access to a number of online resources. Check with the librarians regarding your access to a specific database.
225 Herty Drive Athens, GA 30602-6012 | (706) 542-5077 | University of Georgia School of Law. All rights reserved.