Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start with secondary sources and finding tools to help you find and understand the primary law. The boxes below include links to the major resources we talked about in class. If you don't have access to any resources that look helpful, let me know and I'll see if there's a way to provide access. Also, don't hesitate to ask for help. Anne Burnett, email@example.com, Law Library Annex 2.
Start with Secondary Sources and Finding Tools
Research Guides: Look for a free online research guide covering your jurisdiction(s). Globalex at NYU is an excellent collection of research guides. The Law Library of Congress also produces thorough research guides for selected jurisdictions. Search the web for additional research guides.
Databases and Websites with Primary Sources of Law
RIA Worldwide Tax Law This link opens in a new window
Despite its name, this database includes Commercial Laws of the World. Select "International Tax" under the Search Practice Area dropdown menu, then choose RIA Worldwide Tax & Commercial Law.
vLex Global This link opens in a new window
Legislation, cases, legal journals and e-books, news and forms from various countries and jurisdictions
ICLR.3 This link opens in a new window
Case law from the Superior and Appellate Courts in England and Wales
Global-Regulation.com This link opens in a new window
Legislation and technical standards search engine index in English covering 1,300,000+ laws and regulations from 47 countries with linking to the official full-text source
World Legal Information Institute gathers, organizes and updates links to statutory and case law from multiple jurisdictions worldwide.
Doing Business in...Law Library
The World Bank's free online collection of business laws and regulations. They link to official government sources wherever possible. Translations are not official unless indicated otherwise. Per the site: "[w]e update the collection regularly but are unable to guarantee that laws are the most recent version."
General Resources on Scholarly Legal Writing
Expand your search for articles beyond Westlaw and Lexis with the resources in our Find Articles guide.
To catch articles pre-publication, make sure to search the Legal Scholarship Network in SSRN.
Examples of books and ebooks in the Law Library
Corporate Social Responsibility in Contemporary China by
Call Number: HD60.5.C6 Z44 2014
China's recent economic transformation and integration into the world economy has coincided with increasing pressure for corporate law reform to make corporate social responsibility (CSR) integral to business and management strategy in China. This timely book critically analyses contemporary notions of CSR in China, discussing theory and practice alongside legal responses in this emerging field. Jingchen Zhao uniquely combines the history, traditions and social policies of China with Chinese law, explaining the significance of path dependence in China. He presents an in-depth debate on the difficulties involved in transplanting developed legal principles directly into Chinese society, and takes a detailed look at the CSR provisions in Chinese company law which aimed to put social and environmental concerns onto the corporate agenda. He suggests how these laws could be more effectively and efficiently enforced with reference to UK law, and explores specific issues including:* Chinese Company Law 2006* the 'Harmonious Society' in China* the 2008 Financial Crisis and its impact on the Chinese economy* recent corporate scandals including the Sanlu Baby Milk scandal, the Wenchuan earthquake and CSR donations, the Beijing Olympic Games and CSR, and the Fujia chemical plant.This book will prove an enlightening read for academics and practitioners in the fields of law, business and management interested in CSR and the law in contemporary China.
European Developements in Corporate Criminal Liability by
Call Number: ebook
When corporations carry on their business in a grossly negligent manner, or take a cavalier approach to risk management, the consequences can be catastrophic. The harm may be financial, as occurred when such well-regarded companies as Enron, Lehman Brothers, Worldcom and Barings collapsed, or it may be environmental, as illustrated most recently by the Gulf oil spill. Sometimes deaths and serious injuries on a mass scale occur, as in the Bhopal gas disaster, the Chernobyl nuclear explosion, the Paris crash of the Concorde, the capsize of the Herald of Free Enterprise, and rail crashes at Southall, Paddington and Hatfield in England.What role can the law play in preventing such debacles and in punishing the corporate offenders? This collection of thematic papers and European country reports addresses these questions at both a theoretical and empirical level. The thematic papers analyse corporate criminal liability from a range of academic disciplines, including law, sociology/criminology, economics, philosophy and environmental studies, whilst the country reports look at the laws of corporate crime throughout Europe, highlighting both common features and irreconcilable differences between the various jurisdictions.
examples of books in Main Library
The Law of Business Organizations: A Concise Overview of German Corporate Law by
Call Number: ebook
This book gives a concise introduction to the German law of business organizations and is meant to help business practitioners and international students to familiarize themselves with its key concepts and legal issues. After outlining some characteristic features of the German legal system the book describes the various types of German business organizations with a special focus on the German Limited Liability Company (GmbH) and the German Stock Corporation (AG). The book discusses some typical problems faced by companies engaged in cross-border activities and also provides a brief outline of some recent developments in European company law with a special focus on the new multinational corporate form of the European Company (SE).
Corporate Governance Codes for the 21st Century by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
225 Herty Drive Athens, GA 30602-6012 | (706) 542-5077 | University of Georgia School of Law. All rights reserved.