Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Secondary sources include treatises, encyclopedias, study aids, practice guides, periodicals and other materials about the law. These resources assist the researcher in understanding the basics of the subject matteras well as the latest develops in the field. Secondary sources also help the researcher identify major primary sources, such as important cases, legislation and regulations in the field.
Below are some of the major resources for researching environmental law issues.
examples of books at Law Library
Below are representative titles available in the Law Library.
Use GAVEL to identify additional materials.
Global Climate Change and U. S. Law by
Call Number: KF3775 .G56 2014 BALCONY
Part I: Overview and Context Part II U.S. Federal Regulation and Litigation Part III: Regional, State, and Local Actions Part IV: Energy Regulation Part V: The Next Legal Frontiers"
The Endangered Species Act by
Call Number: e-book
Explores the deeply rooted history of the Endangered Species Act; the basic scientific theory underlying the Act; overview of its key regulations. The author also examines the Act in the context of other key environmental planning statutes such as the National Environmental Policy Act and the Clean Water Act, especially Section 404 of the Clean Water Act, which relates specifically to wetlands. The remainder of the book details the regulatory processes faced by other government agencies and private developers who must routinely ensure that their actions comply with the Endangered Species Act. It concludes with a broad discussion of current controversies associated with the Act.
Implementing Institutional Controls at Brownfields and Other Contaminated Sites by
Call Number: KF3946 .I573 2012 BALCONY
Provides a thorough grounding to the history and current use of all types of institutional controls, while at the same time its articles, written by experts in the field, offer a state-of-the-art review of some of the developing tools that can be used in brownfields redevelopment. The authors consider the substantial strides that have been made over the past decade to improve regulators' and practitioners' awareness and understanding of institutional control issues, especially the Uniform Environmental Covenants Act (UCEA), how most states are handling institutional control issues, and other planning tools such as EPA's use of five-year reviews under Superfund, Land Use Control Implementation Plans, and state and local innovations."
Environmental Law in a Nutshell (a study aid) by
Call Number: KF3775.Z9 F56 2019 RESERVE & in West Academic Study Aids online
Farber's Environmental Law in a Nutshell provides an up-to-date foundation for understanding environmental law. Expert text includes coverage of the full range of environmental issues, from climate change and air pollution, to waste disposal and wetlands. Surveys the many statutory and common-law regulations shaping the world in which we live.
Environmental Law (a study aid) by
Call Number: KF3775.Z9 F45 2016 RESERVE
The Examples & Explanations series provides introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester.
examples of books at UGA Libraries
The Main & Science Libraries also collect relevant titles. Use gil.uga.edu to search for more titles.
The following are representative of the types of materials available at UGA Libraries:
Westlaw, Lexis & Bloomberg Secondary Sources
Westlaw Energy & Environment Secondary Sources
Includes treatises, journals, 50-state surveys, practice guides
Lexis Environmental Law Practice Area or Industry
Includes statutes, regulations, cases, secondary sources, news, more
Lexis Environmental Practice Center
Includes statutes, regulations, cases, secondary sources, Law360 environmental law news, legal analytics
Georgetown Law Treatise Finder
Find expert witness c.v.s, testimony, trial transcripts, etc.
Westlaw: under Content type, go to Expert Materials
Lexis: under Content type, go to Expert Witness Materials
225 Herty Drive Athens, GA 30602-6012 | (706) 542-5077 | University of Georgia School of Law. All rights reserved.