Donald E. Wilkes, Jr. Collection: Bibliography

• Published Books
• Published Articles
• Published Book Review in Law Reviews
• Published Encyclopedia, Magazine, Newspaper, and Professional Journal Articles Online
• Unpublished Magazine and Newspaper Articles Online

Published Books

• State Postconviction Remedies and Relief Handbook (2006) [3 vols.]; (2d ed. 2007) [3 vols.]; (3d ed. 2007-2008) [3 vols.]; (4th ed. 2008-2009) [3 vols.]; (5th ed. 2009-2010) [4 vols.]; (6th ed. 2010-2011) [4 vols.] (Thomson/West).
• Federal Postconviction Remedies and Relief Handbook (2003); (2d ed. 2004); (3d ed. 2006); (4th ed. 2007); (5th ed. 2007-2008); (6th ed. 2008); (7th ed. 2009); (8th ed. 2010); (9th ed. 2011) (Thomson/West).
• Federal Postconvictin Remedies and Relief (1996 & Supps. 1997, 1998 & 1999).
• State Postconviction Remedies and Relief (1996 & Supps. 1997, 1998 & 1999); (2d ed. 2001 [2 vols.] & Supps. 2002 [2 vols.] & 2003 [2 vols.]).
• Federal and State Postconviction Remedies and Relief (1983 & Supps. 1983, 1984, 1985 & 1986); (2d ed. 1987 & Supps. 1988, 1989 & 1990); (3d ed. 1992 & Supps. 1993, 1994 & 1995).

Published Articles

• From Oglethorpe to the Overthrow of the Confederacy: Habeas Corpus in Georgia, 1733-1865, 45 Ga. L. Rev. 1015 (2011).
• History of the Western Judicial Circuit, 17 Ga. B.J. 26 (Oct. 2011).
• The Writ of Habeas Corpus in Georgia, 12 Ga. B.J. 20 (Feb. 2007).
• Writ of Habeas Corpus, in 2 Legal Systems of the World: A Political, social, and Cultural Encyclopedia 645 (Herbert M. Kritzer ed. 2002).
• The Great Writ: No Longer as Dear to the Tories as to the Whigs--A Critique of Sen. Nunn’s Habeas Corpus Article, 7 Woodrow Wilson J.L. 25 (1985-1987).
• The New Federalism in Criminal Procedure in 1984: Death of the Phoenix?, in Developments in State Constitutional Law 166 (Bradley D. McGraw ed. 1985).
• First Things Last: Amendomania and State Bills of Rights, 54 Miss. L.J. 223 (1984), reprinted in The Bill of Rights and the States 387 (Paul L. Murphy ed. 1990).
• Postconviction Habeas Corpus Relief in Georgia: A Decade After the Habeas Corpus Act, 12 Ga. L. Rev. 249 (1978).
• Federal Postconviction Relief, 4 Search & Seizure L. Rep. 1 (March 1977).
• "A Most Deplorable Paradox": Admitting Illegally Obtained Evidence in Georgia--Past, Present, and Future, 11 Ga. L. Rev. 105 (1976).
• The New Federalism in Criminal Procedure Revisited, 64 Ky. L. J. 729 (1976).
• More on the New Federalism in Criminal Procedure, 63 Ky. L. J. 873 (1975).
• A Critique of Two Arguments Against the Exclusionary Rule: The Historical Error and the Comparative Myth, 32 Wash. & Lee L. Rev. 881 (1975).
• The New Federalism in Criminal Procedure: State Court Evasion of the Burger Court, 62 Ky. L.J. 421 (1974).
• A New Role for an Ancient Writ: Postconviction Habeas Corpus Relief in Georgia (pts. 1 & 2), 8 Ga. L. Rev. 313, 9 Ga. L. Rev. 13 (1974).

• From Confederation to Nation: The American Constitution by Bernard Schwartz, 1974 Wash. U. L. Q. 193.
• The Implosion Conspiracy by Louis Nizer, 8 Ga. L. Rev. 279 (1973).
• Correctional Institutions by Robert M.Carter, et al., 7 Ga. L. Rev. 198 (1972).

• The Unsolved Murder of JFK's Mistress, Flagpole Magazine, p. 26 (May 30, 2012).
• The CIA Murdered JFK?, Flagpole Magazine, p. 34 (November 16, 2011).
• Demythologizing the Lost Cause, Flagpole Magazine, p. 30 (November 9, 2011).
• The Troy Davis Tragedy, Flagpole Magazine, p. 30 (October 19, 2011).
• The Western Judicial Circuit -- Today and in Bygone Times, Part Two, Flagpole Magazine, p. 6 (June 8, 2011).
• The Western Judicial Circuit -- Today and in Bygone Times, Part One, Flagpole Magazine, p. 7 (June 1, 2011).
• Clemency for Troy Davis, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 14 (May 14 & 15, 2011).
• Lee Harvey Oswald's Last Lover?, Flagpole Magazine, (December 8, 2010) (online edition).
• Court of Appeals of Georgia, New Georgia Encyclopedia, (December 2, 2010).
• The Professor with the Limp and the Cane and the Cop with the Gun and the Badge, Flagpole Magazine, (December 1, 2010) (online edition).
• The Final Chapter of the Troy Davis Case, Flagpole Magazine, (October 27, 2010) (online edition).
• Throttling Miranda, Flagpole Magazine, (July 21, 2010) (online edition).
• The Stupidest Lawyering Ever, Flagpole Magazine, p.3 (June 30, 2010).
• Indestructible Unalienable Rights, Athens Human Rights Festival, (May 1-2, 2010).
• Woolfolk Murder Case, New Georgia Encyclopedia, (December 18, 2009).
• RFK and the JFK Assassination, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (November 18, 2009).
• The Writ of Habeas Corpus, New Georgia Encyclopedia (October 29, 2009).
• Torture and the Tablets of Eternity, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (May 27, 2009).
• Oliver H. Prince (1782-1837), New Georgia Encyclopedia, (May 15, 2009).
• Death Penalty on Deathbed, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 12 (May 2-3, 2009).
• There Should Be No Federal Prosecution of Brian Nichols, The Atlanta Journal Constitution, p. A12 (January 8, 2009).
• Mafia Murder?, Flagpole Magazine, p. 11 (November 26, 2008).
• Blunders and Wonders of Nov. 22, 1963, Flagpole Magazine, p. 9 (November 19, 2008).
• Habeas Corpus Uncorpsed, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (July 9, 2008).
• A Mammoth of Disinformation, Flagpole Magazine, (June 18, 2008 online edition).
• A Rodent in Robes, Flagpole Magazine, p. 11 (May 8, 2008).
• The Anti-Enlightenment and Human Rights, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 4 (May 3-4, 2008).
• The Cop in the Stall is King, Flagpole Magazine, p. 7 (January 9, 2008).
• Justice Gets a New Lease on Life, The Atlanta Journal Constitution, p. A13 (October 30, 2007).
• Legislation Only Way to Get Eyewitness ID Reform, The Athens Banner-Herald, p. A8 (October 11, 2007).
• History Professors Study Our Greatest Murder Mystery, Flagpole Magazine, p. 7 (June 27, 2007).
• Thurbert Baker Behaving Badly, The Atlanta Journal Constitution, p. 3B (June 17, 2007).
• Unforgivable Racism:  Black Men, Criminal Justice, Res Ipsa Magazine, p.1 (Spring Finals Edition 2007).
• Kafka (and Grisham) in Oklahoma, Flagpole Magazine, p. 9 (February 7, 2007).
• Pot Pope Imprisoned, Flagpole Magazine, p. 31 (December 20, 2006).
• JFK Blown Away--Hooray!, Flagpole Magazine, p. 7 (November 22, 2006).
• Treason flyer
• "Welcome Mr. Kennedy" advertisement
• Habeas Corpse: The Great Writ Hit, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (November 15, 2006).
• I Accuse You, Clarence Thomas!, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (October 18, 2006).
• SWATstika Policing, Flagpole Magazine, p. 7 (September 6, 2006).
• Still Striking Foul Blows, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (May 17, 2006).
• Human Rights and Due Process of Law, Athens Human Rights Festival, p.14 (May 6 & May 7, 2006). Also published in Flagpole Magazine, p.10 (May 3, 2006).
• Habeas Corpus and Baseball, Res Ipsa, p.1 (Spring Finals Edition 2006).
• Deus Ex Mafia: The Solution to America's Greatest Murder Mystery?, Flagpole Magazine, p. 9 (January 25, 2006).
• Destiny Betrayed: The CIA, Oswald and the JFK Assassination, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (December 7, 2005).
• Lincoln Assassinated!, Part 2, Flagpole Magazine, p.12 (April 27, 2005).
• Lincoln Assassinated!, Flagpole Magazine, p. 11 (April 20, 2005).
• Making the Lawful Awful: Amending Bills of Rights to Abolish or Deny Rights, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 4 (April 23 & 24, 2005).
• The Continuing Search for the Truth about the JFK Assassination, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (December 1, 2004).
• Wrongly Accused, Falsely Convicted, Wantonly Murdered, Flagpole Magazine, p. 7 (May 5, 2004).
• Bigotry Always Has Its Reasons, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 3 (May 1 & 2, 2004).
• Exonerated by DNA After 16 Years in Prison, Flagpole Magazine, p. 13 (January 21, 2004).
• Sen. Richard Russell and the Great American Murder Mystery, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (November 19, 2003).
• Lawrence v. Texas:  An Historic Human Rights Victory, Flagpole Magazine, p. 9 (October 15, 2003).
• The Death Flight of Larry McDonald, Flagpole Magazine, p. 7 (September 3, 2003).
• Explosive Dynamic Entry, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (July 30, 2003), reprinted in Police Brutality 70-80 (Sheila Fitzgerald ed. 2007).
• A Little Bit of Shooty Face, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (July 2, 2003).
• Embarrassing Justice, Flagpole Magazine, p. 5 (May 28, 2003).
• Too Few Voices Heard in Choice of Thomas, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, p. A19 (May 15, 2003).
• Strange Cruel Justice, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 3 (May 3 & 4, 2003).
• Open Letter Concerning the Invitation to Justice Clarence Thomas to Speak at the UGA School of Law Graduation Ceremony, Flagpole Magazine, p. 7 (April 30, 2003).
• Dead Docketing Criminal Cases in Georgia, The Georgia Defender, p. 4 (March 2003).
• A President by Judicial Fiat, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (December 11, 2002).
• The Rosetta Stone of the JFK Assassination?, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (November 20, 2002).
• Sneak and Peek Search Warrants and the USA Patriot Act, The Georgia Defender, p. 1 (September 2002).
• Sneak and Peek Search Warrants, Flagpole Magazine, p. 12 (September 11, 2002), reprinted in Police Brutality 91-98 (Sheila Fitzgerald ed. 2007).
• The Trial of the Century - And of All Time, Part Two, Flagpole Magazine, p. 6 (July 17, 2002).
• The Trial of the Century - And of All Time, Part One, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (July 10, 2002).
• Government Appeals in Criminal Cases in Georgia, The Georgia Defender, p. 1 (May 2002).
• An Epic Tale of Heroism and Daring Flight, Georgia Advocate, p. 30 (Spring 2002).
• Human Rights and Devolving Standards of Decency, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 3 (April 20-21, 2002).
• Admissibility of Confessions under OCGA § 24-3-50, the "Hope of Benefit, Fear of Injury" Statute, The Georgia Defender, p. 3 (January 2002).
• Lee Harvey Oswald at Age 62, Flagpole Magazine, p. 6, (November 21, 2001).
• The Cadaver Synod: Strangest Trial in History, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (October 31, 2001).
• The Decline of the Right to Grand Jury Indictment in Georgia, The Georgia Defender, p. 1 (September 2001).
• The Attempted Murder of the Miranda Decision, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 9 (April 21-22, 2001).
• Convicting and Unconvicting the Innocent, Flagpole Magazine, p. 9 (December 27, 2000).
• Contract on Camelot: New Books Cast More Light on JFK Assassination, Flagpole Magazine, p. 10 (November 22, 2000).
• The Eponymous Mr. Prince, Part Two, Flagpole Magazine, p. 10 (September 6, 2000).
• The Eponymous Mr. Prince, Flagpole Magazine, p. 10 (August 30, 2000).
• A Civil War Lynching in Athens, Flagpole Magazine, p. 10 (July 19, 2000).
• Politics, Prejudice, and Perjury, Flagpole Magazine, p. 9 (March 1, 2000).
• Georgia’s Most Notorious Murderess, Flagpole Magazine, p. 22 (December 22, 1999).
• Mystery Lingers, Flagpole Magazine, p. 10 (December 1, 1999).
• Roots of Racism, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (November 17, 1999).
• Campus Gestapo?, Flagpole Magazine, p. 12 (August 26, 1998).
• Bloody Injuries: The Lynchings in Oconee County, 1905-1921, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (June 24,1998).
• J'Accuse ...! Emile Zola, Alfred Dreyfus, and the Greatest Newspaper Article in History, Flagpole Magazine, p. 12 (February 11, 1998).
• More Dead Kennedy Files, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (January 7, 1998).
• Georgia’s Most Ghastly Murder, Flagpole Magazine, p. 9 (November 26, 1997).
• Cheerleading for the Police, Flagpole Magazine, p. 6 (October 29, 1997).
• The Last Lynching in Athens, Flagpole Magazine, p. 8 (September 10, 1997).
• Another Suspicious Police Killing, Flagpole Magazine, p. 5 (September 3, 1997).
• Lessons of the Fred Tokars Murder Trial, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 5 (May 3-4, 1997).
• Not Technicalities, Flagpole Magazine, p. 2 (March 12, 1997).
• Remains of Mass Murder House Found, Flagpole Magazine, p. 6 (February 12, 1997).
• JFK Assassination 33 Years Later, Flagpole Magazine, p. 6 (January 15, 1997).
• No Knock Search Warrants in Georgia, The Georgia Defender, p. 1 (July 1996).
• Whitewash in Athens, Part 2, Flagpole Magazine, p. 5 (June 5, 1996).
• Lawless Law Enforcement, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 6 ( May 4-5, 1996).
• Whitewash in Athens, Flagpole Magazine, p. 6 (February 14, 1996).
• New Light on JFK Assassination, The Observer, p. 5 (December 14, 1995).
• The Georgia Death Penalty Habeas Corpus Reform Act of 1995, The Georgia Defender, p. 1 (November 1995).
• Blame Police, Not the Bill of Rights, For Verdict, The Red and Black, p. 4 (October 6, 1995).
• The Assassination of Ashley Wilkes, The Athens Observer, p. 7A (June 8, 1995).
• Jane Anderson: The Nazi Georgia Peach, Part 3, The Athens Observer, p. 4 (June 1, 1995).
• Jane Anderson: The Nazi Georgia Peach, Part 2, The Athens Observer, p. 5 (May 25, 1995).
• Jane Anderson: The Nazi Georgia Peach, Part 1, The Athens Observer, p. 5 (May 18, 1995).
• Osborne Tried to Overturn Brown Decision, The Athens Observer, p. 6 (February 2, 1995).
• Dreyfus: How He Was Redeemed, The Athens Observer, p. 6 (January 5, 1995).
• Dreyfus: How He Was Framed, The Athens Observer, p. 6 (December 29, !994).
• Dreyfus Case Began a Century Ago, Georgia Advocate, p. 29 (Fall 1994).
• JFK Killer Not Alone, UGA Professor Says, The Athens Observer, p. 1 (December 8, 1994).
• Death Penalty Corrections, The Athens Observer, p. 7 (July 21-27, 1994).
• A Dying Penalty?, The Athens Observer, p. 1 (July 7-13, 1994).
• Sentenced to Death, The Athens Observer, p. 1 (June 30-July 6, 1994).
• May Futrelle Survived the Titanic, The Athens Observer, p. 6 (May 12-18, 1994).
• On the Titanic: Jacques Futrelle, The Athens Observer, p. 6 (May 5-11, 1994).
• On the Titanic: Archie Butt, The Athens Observer, p. 6 (April 28-May 4, 1994).
• Georgians on the Titanic, The Athens Observer, p. 6 (April 21-27, 1994).
• New JFK Book “Continued Coverup“ Claims University Law Professor, The Athens Observer, p. 16 (November 24-December 1, 1993).
• A Note on the Term “Rehnquisition",The Georgia Defender, p. 2 (August 1993).
• Remembering the Alamo and Athenian Who Died There, The Athens Observer, p. 10 (July 1-7, 1993).
• Oddities of the JFK Assassination, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 8 (May 8-9, 1993).
• Footsteps of the Ripper, The Athens Observer, p. 9 (February 11, 1993).
• Tragic Tale Recounts First Murder on UGA Campus, The Athens Observer, p. 1 (May 7, 1992).
• Crime Statistics We Would Like to See, Zeitgeist, p. 12 (Spring 1992).
• Crime Statistics We’d Like to See, The Georgia Defender, p. 1 (March 1992).
• The Very Latest Dirty Dozen: The 12 Worst Rehnquist Court Criminal Procedure Decisions During the 1990-1991 Term, The Georgia Defender, p. 4 (September 1991).
• Police Are the Problem, The Campus Times, p. 6 (May 31, 1991).
• Lawlessness In Law Enforcement, The Campus Times, p. 10 (May 30, 1991).
• The Incredible Shrinking Bill of Rights, Athens Human Rights Festival, p. 2 (April 1991).
• The Latest Dirty Dozen: The 12 Worst Rehnquist Court Criminal Procedure Decisions During the 1989-90 Term, The Georgia Defender, p. 2 (January 1991).
• Bloody Woolfolk, The Athens Observer, p. 20 (November 21, 1990).
• Liberty’s Enemy: Chief Justice Rehnquist’s Criminal Procedure Opinions, The Georgia Defender, p. 1 (April 1990).
• Russell Disagreed with JFK Death Report, The Athens Observer, p. 1 (November 9, 1989).
• Georgia’s New Law Office Search Statute, The Georgia Defender, p. 1 (Summer 1989).
• Did the Mob Kill JFK?, The Athens Observer, p. 17 (December 15, 1988).
• The Dirty Dozen: The 12 Worst Burger-Rehnquist Court Decisions in the Field of Criminal Procedure, The Georgia Defender, p. 1 (October 1988).
• Oswald Not Alone in JFK Murder, The Athens Observer, p. 8 (November 26, 1987).
• In 1945 Flight 19 Flew to Its Doom Through a Large Cloud of Mystery, The Athens Observer, p. 1 (November 19, 1987).
• What are Facts of MLK Murder?, The Athens Observer, p. 7 (April 9, 1987).
• Death of MLK Still a Mystery, The Athens Observer, p. 1 (April 2, 1987).
• Additional Milteer Information, The Athens Observer, p. 9 (February 26, 1987).
• Was Milteer in Dallas?, The Athens Observer, p. 2 (February 19, 1987).
• Did He Know JFK to Die?, The Athens Observer, p. 2 (February 12, 1987).
• Professor Researches a Possible Georgia Connection in JFK Death, The Athens Observer, p. 2 (February 5, 1987).
• Who Killed the Kingfish?, The Athens Observer, p. 8 (September 12, 1985).
• Vox Nazi, Vox Mortis: The Worst Thing in the World, Lumpkin Law Revue, p. 6 (August 1985).
• Tyrannicide Not Terrorism: Two Interesting Assassinations, Lumpkin Law Revue, p. 5 (February 1985).
• Freedom Versus Societal Cost: In Defense of the Fourth Amendment Exclusionary Rule, The Georgia Defender, p. 2 (April 1984).
• Remembering Judge Townsend, The Georgia Defender, p. 1 (January 1984).
• Questions on Kennedy Killing, The Athens Observer, p. 8 (November 23, 1983).
• Kennedy Killing: Who Did It?, The Athens Observer, p. 8 (November 17, 1983).
• Underwood v. State: Georgia’s High Water Mark in the Protection of the Basic Rights of Criminal Suspects, The Georgia Defender, p. 2 (July 1983).

• Rothwax Justice (March 1, 1996).
• The Forgotten Tricentennial (February 14, 1989).
• Unparallel Lives: Judge Benjamin Hill in Atlanta, Adolf Hitler in Vienna, 1907-1913 (October 18, 1985).