LibGuides: International Arbitration: Home

Web Resources

A number of arbitration-related materials, including international agreements and rules, are accessible via the EISIL database in the International Commercial Arbitration category.

The chapter on International Commercial Arbitration in the American Society of International Law's Electronic Resource Guide provides an excellent research guide covering international agreements, conventions, and treaties; international and regional arbitral institutions;internet domain name disputes; national arbitration statutes; commercial databases; and blogs and alert services

Databases

KluwerArbitration.com - EXCELLENT RESOURCE! Linked from the Law Library's Research Resources page. Provides access to treatises, journals, international agreements, rules, current commentaries from expert authors, primary source materials, and comparative practice tools

Oxford Legal Research Library on International Commercial Arbitration - subscription database providing access to treatises that cover the key arbitral bodies and jurisdictions as well as a number of officially recognized and endorsed texts providing coverage of the rules of particular arbitral bodies. Also included are a number of key treatises looking at specific areas of international arbitration practice in more depth with topics ranging from consent and annulment through to the calculation of damages.

International Arbitration Books at the Law Library

This is a sampling of relevant materials available in the Law Library. Additional available items, including e-books, can be found using our online catalog, GAVEL. Try a keyword query of international commercial arbitration for the most flexible search. PLEASE NOTE: some titles available in KluwerArbitration are linked from GAVEL, but not all. If the title you seek is not in GAVEL, go into KluwerArbitration to determine if it is available there.

International Commercial Arbitration by Gary B. Born
Call Number: K2400 .B662 2014 Balcony
Publication Date: 2014
Provides the most comprehensive commentary and analysis, on all aspects of the international commercial arbitration process. Includes chapters covering the form and contents of awards; the correction, interpretation and supplementation of awards; the annulment and confirmation of awards; the recognition and enforcement of arbitral awards; and issues of preclusion, lis pendens and staredecisis.
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration (ONLINE) by Nigel Blackaby; Constantine Partasides; Alan Redfern (As told to); Martin Hunter
Call Number: K2400 .R43 2009 ONLINE
Publication Date: 2009
Considered a leading text on international commercial arbitration. With a focus on the practice as well as the theory of international arbitration, this text provides an invaluable guide to the international arbitral process, from the drafting of the arbitration agreement to the enforcement of arbitral awards.
The Principles and Practice of International Commercial Arbitration by Margaret L. Moses
Call Number: K2400 .M65 2017
Provides the legal and regulatory framework for international arbitration, as well as practical strategies to follow and pitfalls to avoid. It is short and readable, but comprehensive in its coverage of the basic requirements, including the most recent changes in arbitration laws, rules, and guidelines. Includes new sections on state to state arbitration, the role and power of the arbitrator, reform efforts in international investment treaties, transparency in international arbitration and third party funding.
International Arbitration and International Commercial Law by Eric E. Bergsten; Stefan Kröll (Editor)
Call Number: K2400 .I5635 2011 Balcony
Publication Date: 2011
Over the last half-century, as UNCITRAL official, professor, arbitrator and father of the Willem C. Vis Arbitration Moot, Eric Bergsten has been at the forefront of progress in international commercial arbitration. Now, on the occasion of his eightieth birthday, the international arbitration and sales law community has gathered to honour him with this substantial collection of new essays on the many facets of the field to which he continues to bring his intellect, integrity, inquisitive nature, eye for detail, precision, and commitment to public service. Celebrating the long-standing and sustained contribution Eric Bergsten has made in international commercial law, international arbitration, and legal education, more than fifty colleagues - among them quite a few of the best-known arbitrators and arbitration academics in the world - present 45 pieces that, individually both engaging and incisive, collectively present a thorough and far-reaching account of the state of the field today, with contributions covering international sales law, commercial law, commercial arbitration, and investment arbitration. In addition, nine essays on issues in legal education mirror the great importance of the renowned Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot, Eric's Vienna project which has offered a life-changing experience for so many young lawyers from all over the world.
Forum Shopping in the International Commercial Arbitration Context by Franco Ferrari (Editor)
Call Number: K2400 .F66 2013 Balcony
Publication Date: 2013
For many, "forum shopping" is a term with disparaging connotations, indicating something "evil." That is why various policies against forum shopping exist, both on a domestic and an international level. As for the reasons adduced in justification of this anti-forum shopping stance, they include the assertion that forum shopping goes against the principle of consistency of outcomes, that it overburdens certain courts and creates unnecessary expenses. May a litigant pursue the most favorable - rather than the simplest or closest - forum? To what extent is forum shopping relevant in the international commercial arbitration context? The contributions in this book, written by renowned authors, provide answers to these questions and more.
International Arbitration by Born
Call Number: K2400 .B672 2011 Reserve
Publication Date: 2010
Based on Gary Born's well-known treatise, International Commercial Arbitration: Commentary and Materials, one of the leading authorities in the field, this new casebook is a thoroughly international approach to international commercial arbitration.
International Civil Litigation in United States Courts by Gary B. Born; Peter B. Rutledge
Call Number: KF418.C48 B67 2011 Reserve
Publication Date: 2012
Written by two leading scholar-practitioners in the field, International Civil Litigation in United States Courts offers a unique combination of excerpts of cases and materials, commentary, and detailed notes--in an accessible framework that integrates topics seamlessly. Much like the newly released edition of Mr. Born's International Arbitration casebook, this text promises to be the leader in its field. The Fifth Edition provides a thoroughly updated survey of the field, canvassing recent developments, such as the stream-of-commerce theory of personal jurisdiction, the immunity of government officials after Samantar , and the extraterritorial application of federal statutes after Morrison . Each chapter contains non-U.S. materials which support a comparative study of the topics covered in the book. International Civil Litigation in United States Courts features broad and inclusive coverage a manageable and transparent organization of topics extraordinary authorship that brings a wealth of experience in teaching and practice to every page integrated coverage of conflicts of laws enduring value as a reference source Updated throughout, highlights of the Fifth Edition reflect significant developments in the field: analyzes the most recent Supreme Court decisions in the field like Samantar, Morrison and the upcoming stream of commerce cases traces subsequent lower court activity following path breaking decisions like Sosa and Intel covers major legislative activity like the recent overhaul of the Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act even greater emphasis on comparative analysis of the topics covered such as jurisdiction, judgments and forum selection
World Arbitration Reporter: International Encyclopaedia of Arbitration Law and Practice by Mistelis and Shore, General Editors
Call Number: K2400 .W672 Balcony
Publication Date: 2010- (updated regularly)
This multi-volume set covers national reports (including translations of relevant laws), national arbitration institutions, international arbitration institutions, treaties and bilateral and regional agreements.
Ethics in International Arbitration by Catherine Rogers
Call Number: KZ6115 .R64 2014 Basement
Publication Date: 2014
International arbitration is a remarkably resilient institution, but many unresolved and largely unacknowledged ethical quandaries lurk below the surface. Globalization of commercial trade has increased the number and diversity of parties, counsel, experts and arbitrators, which has in turn lead to more frequent ethical conflicts just as procedures have become more formal and transparent. The predictable result is that ethical transgressions are increasingly evident and less tolerable. Despite these developments, regulation of various actors in the system arbitrators, lawyers, experts, third-party funders and arbitral institutions remains ambiguous and often ineffectual. Ethics in International Arbitration systematically analyses the causes and effects of these developments as they relate to the professional conduct of arbitrators, counsel, experts, and third-party funders in international commercial and investment arbitration. This work proposes a model for effective ethical self-regulation, meaning regulation of professional conduct at an international level and within existing arbitral procedures and structures. The work draws on historical developments and current trends to propose analytical frameworks for addressing existing problems and reifying the legitimacy of international arbitration into the future.

Finding Articles

Expand your search for articles beyond Westlaw and Lexis with the resources in our Find Articles guide.

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals may be especially helpful for this subject.

To catch articles pre-publication, make sure to search the Legal Scholarship Network in SSRN.

Books at the Main Library

Third Parties in International Commercial Arbitration by Stavros L. Brekoulakis
Call Number: K2400 .B74 2010 Main Library 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 2011
Adopting a comparative, international approach, this book is predominantly concerned with the impact of arbitration proceedings and arbitral awards upon third parties.

The Main Library, next door to the Law School, also collects relevant materials. Use their online catalog, GIL, to identify additional items.

The American Influences on International Commercial Arbitration by Pedro J. Martinez-Fraga
Call Number: K2400 .M37 2009 Main Library 2nd Floor
Publication Date: 2009
This text traces the contours of U.S. doctrinal developments concerning international commercial arbitration. It explores international commercial arbitration as a bridge that creates symmetry between what the author perceives as an anomaly arising from the disparities between the monolithic framework arising from economic globalization and a fragmented global judicial counterpart.