Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Career Resources from the Library
Guides to support the job search and career development activities of our students.

Browse All Guides   |
  Search: 
 
 

Career & Professional Resources Collection

Explore the Career & Professional Resources Collection in the Law Library!

 

Career Development Resources

Career Development Office (CDO) 
CDO provides students with the tools, resources, and guidance necessary to enable them to secure fulfilling employment in line with their career goals and individual qualifications.

Student Professional Development (SPD)
SPD prepares students for the practicalities of the profession by hosting events throughout the academic year. SPD also helps to enhance student soft skills and core competencies while assisting them in their evaluations of the legal profession for their own career success. 

Career Development Resources

Guides for Specific Practice Areas

 

Using Career Resources

The Law Library provides career resources to help you explore the legal profession. The databases, websites, and books listed in this guide can assist you in refining your career interests and beginning your job search. The Law Library makes these resources available in consultation with Legal Career Services and Student Professional Development.

A great way to get started is by browsing the Career & Professional Resources book collection located on the Main Floor of the Law Library. These books can be checked out and are listed in the Law Library catalog GAVEL. Highlights from this collection are listed throughout this guide.

Resources for Specific Practice Areas

The following resources may be helpful to research prospective employers:

  • ALM Legal Intelligence
    Law firm profiles prepared by ALM, publisher of the American Lawyer and National Law Journal. Provides rankings and surveys on leading firms covering the areas of hiring practices, demographics, revenues and more.
  • Leadership Library
    Also known as the Yellow Book Directories, provides contact and background information on over 40,000+ leading U.S. government agencies, courts, business, law firms, professional associations, and nonprofit organizations.
  • NALP Directory
    Provides specific information on law firms, government agencies, public interest organizations, and corporations, including lawyer demographics, practice areas, compensation and benefits, diversity and inclusion practices. Maintained by the NALP - The Association for Legal Career Professionals.
 

"Lead Me to a Job" Presentation Links

Presented as part of the Law Library's Lunch-n-Learn series on Sept. 24, 2014 by Sharon Bradley

Research Resources - databases available from the library

Evernote - Remember Everything

Evernote in Law Practice

 
 

Contact

Law Library Reference

Career Development Office

Student Professional Development

 

Description

Loading