Skip to Main Content

Sustainable Business: Transactions & Strategy (JURI 5667): Finding Resources

Resources for students in Professor Appel's class

Help with PowerPoint

Because you have to make a presentation you might want to take a look at:

  • PowerPoint Tips, Tricks, & Hacks: Everything You Should Know about How to NOT Ruin a Presentation
    • Jason Tubinis, IT Librarian for the Georgia Bar Continuing Education program, Jan. 29, 2016
    • Discusses how to make a presentation better with PowerPoint than it would be without it. Provides understanding of what does and does not work when using software in conjunction with a verbal presentation. Offers many tips and lessons that are general enough to apply to other presentation software, like Keynote or Google Slides.

SECONDARY SOURCES

Researchers often start with secondary sources to help identify and understand primary sources of law.

Secondary sources include the following types of material:

  • Encyclopedias -Encyclopedias provide an introduction and overview of an area of law and introduce relevant terminology while also providing citations to statutes, regulations, and representative cases.
    • American Jurisprudence 2d (AmJur)
      • LexisNexis Advance - In Explore Content box > Content Type tab > Secondary Materials
      • Westlaw - in Browse box > All Content tab > Secondary Sources > Texts & Treatises
  • Treatises - A treatise is a scholarly treatment of an area of law. Treatises may be one or multiple volumes depending upon the broadness or narrowness of the topic.
    • Bloomberg BNA
    • GAVEL - use keyword searching or subject headings and date restrictions
    • Lexis Advance  - look at Browse > Topics [upper left of screen]
    • Westlaw - in "Browse" box > Practice Areas tab
  • Law Review & Journal Articles - very useful for newer topics
    • Lexis and Westlaw both provide full-text access to legal periodical articles
    • There are two broad, general indexes to legal publications
    • Full-text availability - if the database you have searched does not contain the full-text article, search for the title of the periodical in:
      • GAVEL - online catalog of the law library. If a journal is part of a database subscribed to by the law library the catalog provides a link to the online resource.
      • GIL- online catalog of the main library. Only contains the print journals. Use the Journal Locator to determine if the main library subscribes to an electronic version of the journal.
      • Publisher's web site
      • HeinOnline - Hein Online is a great resource with full-text PDF versions.
  •  American Law Reports (ALR) - detailed articles, referred to as annotations, that gather all of the cases on a fairly narrow topic
    • LexisNexis Advance - In Explore Content box > Content Type tab > Secondary Materials
    • Westlaw - in Browse box > All Content tab > Secondary Sources > American Law Reports
  • Annotated Codes
    • case notes give a brief discussion of cases which site particular statutes. While there may be a lot of overlap or duplication between sets there will be unique references.
      • Online (LexisNexis & Westlaw)
        • Annotated U.S. Code 
        • Official Code of Georgia
      • Print (all available in the Law Library's Reference area)
        • U.S. Code Annotated (USCA)
        • U.S. Code Service (USCS)
        • Official Code of Georgia (OCGA)
        • West’s Code of Georgia Annotated

Online Resources

Albany Law School, Government Law Online - A clearinghouse service that contains a collection of government law and public policy articles, studies, papers, and reports written by the faculty, staff, and students of the law school.

Sabin Center for Climate Change Law, Columbia Law School - broadly covers domestic and international climate change law; view the Resources section for well-curated materials.

Cyburbia - A portal for many kinds of land use planning and regulation information; informative posts and forums to facilitate idea exchange.

DIRT - A legal discussion group for real estate professionals, the daily postings tend to focus on recent court opinions or other legal developments. There is a searchable archive dating back to 1995.

Environmental Law Institute - established in 1969, is a non-partisan research and education center working to strengthen environmental protection.

Georgetown Climate Center - resources for state and federal policy on adaptation, clean energy, and transportation

Harvard Project on Climate Agreement, John F. Kennedy School of Government

International Institute on Sustainable Development (IISD) - based in Canada, IISD provides reports, papers, newsletters, and other materials on subjects related to sustainable development, including international trade and investment, economic policy, climate change and energy, natural and social capital, and the enabling role of communication technologies in these areas.

Land Use Law - Maintained by Professor Daniel Mandelker, the site provides recent cases of national significance and articles on current hot topics.

Local Government Commission - see the Resources section

NYU School of Law, Guarini Center on Environmental, Energy, and Land Use Law

Pace University Law School

SignLaw - A website that focuses on the law of signs, billboards, outdoor advertising, public forum and related topics.

Sustainable Community Development Code, University of Denver, Sturm College of Law - a framework for local governments to include sustainability ideas in land use laws

United Nations

Urban Land Institute

Urbanicity - digital channel for urban issues, aggregates worldwide news

Vermont Journal of Environmental Law - Top Ten Environmental Watch List

Advocacy and Membership Organizations

Blogs and News

University of Georgia Law Library |  University of Georgia  |  Non-Discrimination Policy  |  Privacy Policy  | Contact Site Administrator 
225 Herty Drive Athens, GA 30602-6012 | (706) 542-5077 | University of Georgia School of Law.  All rights reserved.