Returning to the question of finding the relevant law, most researchers start with secondary sources. Court opinions, statutes, regulations are expressions of the law. They are primary sources. Legal researchers have to consult the primary resources and understand their application and operation. Secondary sources help us understand the primary sources.
Basically everything that is not primary is secondary. They are the sources that describe or discuss or analyze the primary sources. They are used by researchers to help narrow down the massive amount of primary material to the relevant items.
There are a wide variety of secondary sources.
*More information about LexisNexis Academic in the box below.
The LexisNexis Academic service is a smaller set of the LexisNexis Research Service used by attorneys. The Academic service contains federal and state statutes, court opinions, and law review articles. LexisNexis Academic is available through GALILEO (Databases A-Z > "L" > LexisNexis Academic). Obtain the password for off campus access.
Academic Knowledge Center - help resources
Generally try to use field searches unless your search terminology is very specific. Narrowing by date is an effective way to limit a large search result.
Our contract with LexisNexis prohibits us from issuing individual LexisNexis accounts to non-law students. Review the policy.
Albany Law School, Government Law Online - A clearinghouse service that contains a collection of government law and public policy articles, studies, papers, and reports written by the faculty, staff, and students of the law school.
Center for Climate Change Law, Columbia Law School
Conservation Law - articles and presentations by lawyer Jessica E. Jay
Cyburbia - A portal for many kinds of land use planning and regulation information; informative posts and forums to facilitate idea exchange.
DIRT - A legal discussion group for real estate professionals, the daily postings tend to focus on recent court opinions or other legal developments. There is a searchable archive dating back to 1995.
Georgetown Climate Center - resources for state and federal policy
Harvard Project on Climate Agreement, John F. Kennedy School of Government
Land Use Law - Maintained by Professor Daniel Mandelker, the site provides recent cases of national significance and articles on current hot topics.
NYU School of Law, Guarini Center on Environmental, Energy and Land Use Law
Pace University Law School
GreenLaw - blog of Environmental Law Program
SignLaw - A website that focuses on the law of signs, billboards, outdoor advertising, public forum and related topics.
Sustainable Community Development Code, University of Denver, Sturm College of Law - a framework for local governments to include sustainability ideas in land use laws
Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Division for Sustainable Development
Urbanicity (formerly Urban Cities) - A portal with a particularly extensive collection of current articles
Advocacy and Membership Organizations
Blogs and News