Skip to main content

Locating Forms: Subject Specific Forms

How to locate sample forms for common legal and business transactions.

Introduction

Formbooks contain sample forms for common legal and business transactions.  The Law Library provides access to many resources that include sample legal forms.

Remember: forms are often generic documents.  Before using a sample legal form, you should always carefully examine the document to make sure it suits your legal needs and is still up to date.

Although links to Westlaw and Lexis are provided, Westlaw and Lexis access is only available to faculty, staff and students of the University of Georgia School of Law.

Recommended GAVEL Search Strategy

To locate form books on specific types of agreements, use the GAVEL, the UGA Law Library's online catalog.

Conduct a word search using a topic keyword and any of the following terms: forms, contracts.

Examples:

  • corporations and forms
  • entertainment and contracts

Subject Specific Forms

 


Bankruptcy

Collier Forms Manual
Print: Balcony KF1521 .C65
Comprehensive collection of forms for use in cases under Chapters 7, 11, 12 and 13.

The Family Lawyer's Guide to Bankruptcy: Forms, Tips, and Strategies / by Shayna M. Steinfeld, Bruce R. Steinfeld
Print: Balcony KF1535.D58 S74 2014

Herzog's Bankruptcy Forms and Practice
Print: Balcony KF1527 .H4552
Westlaw: BKRFP
Recognized as the "classic" forms work in bankruptcy.

How to File for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy / by Stephen Elias ... [et al.]
Print: Reserve KF1524.85 .E456 2011
A practical self-help guide.

How to File Your Own Bankruptcy (or How to Avoid It) : With Forms / Edward A. Haman
Print: Balcony KF1524.6 .H36 1994
A practical self-help guide.

Norton Bankruptcy Law and Practice 3d / William L. Norton, Jr., author and editor-in-chief  (volumes 10-11)
Westlaw: NRTN-BLP
A 12 volume comprehensive survey of all aspects of bankruptcy law and procedure,from the initial client interview and determining whether to commence the action to dealing with parties in interest and the conclusion of the case.

Official Bankruptcy Forms
Internet:
http://www.uscourts.gov/forms/bankruptcy-forms

 

Business Law,  Commercial Law and Contracts

Commercial Loan Documentation Guide
LexisNexis: MATBEN;COLDGU
LexisNexis: Legal > Secondary Legal > Matthew Bender > By Area of Law > Commercial Law > Commercial Loan Documentation Guide

The Complete Book of Business Forms and Agreements / Cliff Roberson
Print: Balcony KF886 .R63 1994

CORI  - Contracting and Organizations Research Institute from the University of Missouri Columbia
Internet:  http://cori.missouri.edu/

Findlaw Business Contracts
Internet: http://contracts.corporate.findlaw.com

Forms and Procedures Under the UCC
LexisNexis: MATBEN;UCCFRM
LexisNexis: Legal > Secondary Legal > Matthew Bender > By Area of Law > Commercial Law > Forms & Procedures Under the UCC
Mechanics of completing UCC related forms and the substantive law connected with those forms.

Hillman on Commercial Loan Documentation / Thomas S. Hemmendinge
Print: Balcony KF1035 .H542
Functional guide for novices and experienced counsel

The 'Lectric Law Library Forms Room
Internet: http://www.lectlaw.com/form.html

Onecle Sample Contracts
Internet: http://contracts.onecle.com/

Uniform Commercial Code. Pleading and Practice Forms / Stephen M. Flanagan
Print: Balcony KF8836 .F52
A three volume set of UCC forms

United States Small Business Administration Forms
Internet: http://www.sba.gov/tools/Forms/index.html

Warren's Forms of Agreement
Print: Basement KF808 .W3
LexisNexis: MATBEN;WARRNF
LexisNexis: Legal > Secondary Legal > Matthew Bender > By Area of Law > Corporate > Warren's Forms of Agreement
Coverage includes: organizing a business entity; corporations; partnerships; licensing of an intellectual property; real estate finance; international transactions; plus an extensive collection of standard clauses.

 

 

Criminal

Complete Manual of Criminal Forms / F. Lee Bailey and Kenneth J. Fishman
Print: Balcony KF9616 .B32
A three-volume set of criminal forms

Federal Postconviction Remedies and Relief Handbook for Practitioners : With Forms / by Donald E. Wilkes, Jr 
Print:  Basement & Reserve KF9010 .W552
Materials essential to preparations, research, and litigation of federal postconviction relief actions.

State Postconviction Remedies and Relief : With Forms / by Donald E. Wilkes, Jr
Print: Reserve KF9010 .W56
Materials essential to preparations, research, and litigation of state postconviction relie actionsf.

 

 

 

Divorce
See also Georgia - Divorce

The Complete Guide to Divorce Practice : Forms and Procedures for the Lawyer / Larry Rice
Print: Balcony KF533.5 .R52 2012
Includes computer diskettes of forms in word-processing format

Encyclopedia of Matrimonial Clauses / Raoul Lionel Felder
Print: Balcony KF533.5 .F45

Family Law Litigation Guide With Forms
LexisNexis: MATBEN;FAMLLT
LexisNexis: Legal > Secondary Legal > Matthew Bender > By Area of Law > Family Law > Family Law Litigation Guide with Forms: Discovery, Evidence, Trial Practice
Covers every phase of matrimonial and family law pre-trial practice and court proceedings.

Lindey on Separation Agreements and Antenuptial Contracts
Print: Basement KF529 .L51
LexisNexis: MATBEN;LESPAC
LexisNexis: Legal > Secondary Legal > Matthew Bender > By Area of Law > Family Law > Lindey on Separation Agreements and Antenuptial Contracts
Examines all facets of these agreements, including the impact of equitable distribution and community property statutes.

 

 

 

Estate Planning including Wills

Irrevocable Trusts / George M. Turner
Print: Balcony KF730 .T873
Westlaw

Living Trusts, and Simple Ways to Avoid Probate : With Forms / Karen Ann Rolcik
Print: Balcony KF734.Z9 R65 1996
A practical self-help guide.

Living Trusts: Forms & Practice
LexisNexis: MATBEN;LTRUST
LexisNexis: Legal > Secondary Legal >Matthew Bender > By Area of Law >Elder Law > Living Trusts: Forms & Practice
A one volume practice-oriented publication.

Murphy's Will Clauses: Annotations and Forms with Tax Effects
Print: Repository KF755.A65 M8
LexisNexis: MATBEN;MURPHY
LexisNexis: Legal > Secondary Legal > Matthew Bender > By Area of Law > Estate Planning > Murphy's Will Clauses: Annotations and Forms with Tax Effects
Over 1,400  will and trust clauses with related documents.

Nolo's Simple Will Book / by Denis Clifford
Print: Reference KF755.Z9 C54 2003
A practical self-help guide.

Page on the Law of Wills : Including Probate, Will Contests, Evidence, Taxation, Conflicts, Estate Planning, Forms, and Statutes Relating to Wills / by Jeffrey A. Schoenblum
Print: Balcony KF755 .P34 2000
LexisNexis: ESTATE;PWILLS
LexisNexis: Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > Estates, Gifts & Trusts > Treatises & Analytical Materials > Page on Wills

The Power of Attorney Handbook : With Forms / Edward A. Haman
Print: Balcony KF1347.Z9 H35 1994

Revocable Trusts / George M. Turner
Print: Balcony KF734 .T874

 

 

Intellectual Property

How to Get Your Own Trademark : Complete with Trademark Application Forms, Request for Trademark Search, Federal Regulations and Codes, Everything You Need / Ted Nicholas
Print: Balcony KF3180.Z9 N53 1993
A practical self-help guide.

How to Register Your Own Copyright : With Forms / Mark Warda
Print: Balcony KF3004.Z9 W373 1995
A practical self-help guide.

How to Register Your Own Trademark : With Forms / Mark Warda
Print: Balcony KF3181.Z9 W37 1997
A practical self-help guide.

The Inventor's Notebook / by Fred Grissom & David Pressman
Print: Balcony KF3114.6 .G75 2000
A practical self-help guide.

Faber on Mechanics of Patent Claim Drafting / Robert C. Faber
Print: Balcony KF3125.C5 L33

License Your Invention / by Richard Stim
Print: Balcony KF3145.Z9 S75 2002
A practical self-help guide.

Patent It Yourself / by David Pressman
Print: Balcony KF3114.6 .P74 2014

Patent Pending in 24 Hours / by Richard Stim & David Pressman
Print: Balcony KF3120.Z9 S75 2002
A practical self-help guide.

Trademark practice & forms / Karla C. Shippey, Vini Kumar, Molly E. Thurmond, general editor
Print: Balcony KF3180 .T725

U.S. Copyright Office Forms
Internet: http://www.copyright.gov/forms/

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Forms
Internet: http://www.uspto.gov/web/forms/index.html

U.S. Trademark Law : Rules of Practice, Forms, Federal Statutes & Regulations
Print: Balcony KF3181 .A332
 

 

Property

Commercial Real Estate Forms 3d / Stuart M. Saft
Westlaw: COMREFRM
An eight-volume treatise with more than 400 forms. Topics include: Preparing Real Estate Agreements, Brokerage and Commission Agreements, Ownership Entities, Acquisition and Disposition of Property Leases, Permanent Financing, Construction and Development, Construction and Development Financing, Title Forms, Cooperatives, Condominiums and Homeowner's Associations, and Operating Agreements.

Commercial Real Estate Law Practice Manual With Forms / James P. McAndrews
Print: Balcony KF572 .M38 2009

Cooperative Housing Law and Practice - Forms
LexisNexis: MATBEN;COHLPF
LexisNexis: Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > Real Estate >  Treatises & Analytical Materials > Cooperative Housing Law and Practice - Forms
Includes documents and illustrative forms used in the creation of various types of cooperatives such as eviction and non-eviction offering plans involving residential and commercial projects, luxury buildings, condos, leasehold cooperatives, mixed commercial and residential loft space, marinas, and the conversion of publicly financed projects to private ownership.

Current Leasing Law and Techniques
LexisNexis: MATBEN;LEALAW
LexisNexis:  Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > Real Estate >  Treatises & Analytical Materials > Matthew Bender > Current Leasing Law and Techniques: Forms
In-depth examination of every type of lease provision.  Also includes drafting techniques.

How to Negotiate Real Estate Leases : For Landlords and Tenants : With Forms / Mark Warda
Print: Balcony KF590.Z9 W37 1998

Powell on Real Property / by Richard R. Powell
Print: Balcony KF570 .P57
LexisNexis: MATBEN;POWELL
LexisNexis: Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > Real Estate >  Treatises & Analytical Materials > Matthew Bender > Powell on Real Property
Over 130 chapters on property subjects.

Leases & Rental Agreements / by Marcia Stewart & Ralph Warner & Janet Portman
Print: Balcony KF590.Z9 S744 2002

Zoning and Land Use
LexisNexis: MATBEN;ZLANDU
LexisNexis: Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > Real Estate > Treatises & Analytical Materials > Matthew Bender > Zoning and Land Use Controls
Two volumes of model ordinances and detailed annotations organized by jurisdiction.  Also includes site plans, sample building permits, and zoning application forms.

Education Policy

Loading

              
ABA Required Disclosures  |  Contact Us  |  Sitemap  |  University of Georgia  |  Non-Discrimination Policy  |  Text-Only Version
The University of Georgia School of Law    225 Herty Drive    Athens, GA 30602-6012    (706) 542-5191
Copyright 2016, University of Georgia School of Law.  All rights reserved.