Skip to main content

Preservation Law (HIPR 6200): Other Resources

Information and resources for the Master of Historic Preservation students

Database Access

Having trouble accessing some databases? Try going through GALILEO first. Both LexisNexis Academic and HeinOnline are in GALILEO. Some are available only to the law school community so you will have to come into the law library.

Resources Outside of LexisNexisAcademic

Law Library Resources

Encyclopedia

  • Wex - dictionary and legal encyclopedia

Treatise - A treatise is a scholarly treatment of an area of law, it may be one or multiple volumes depending upon the broadness or narrowness of the topic. Treatises are very popular with attorneys and they will buy treatises relevant to their practice. Treatises published by LexisNexis are not part of the LNA subscription. 

  • Check GAVEL, the Law Library's online catalog
    • Look for titles that are updated or recent editions
    • Use the subject headings for relevant titles to expand the search

WorldCat

WorldCat - search 10,000 libraries worldwide WorldCat can identify relevant titles in nearby public libraries or college or university libraries. You might also be able to borrow the item through the inter-library loan (ILL) service.

 

Law Review & Journal Articles - very useful for newer topics

  • Specialized indexes
    • Review the list.
    • The online indexes indicate if the journal is owned by the law library or the main library.
  • Fulltext availability - if the database you have searched does not contain the fulltext article you may be able to find it somewhere else. Places to check:
    • GAVEL - online catalog of the law library. If a journal is part of a database subscribed to by the law library the catalog provides a link to the online resource.
    • GIL- online catalog of the main library. Only contains the print journals. Use the E-journal Locator to determine if the main library subscribes to an electronic version of the journal.
    • Hein Online - Hein Online is a great resource with fulltext PDF versions.
    • Publisher’s web site
    • JURN - locate free, full-text articles in scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences

American Law Reports

  • Articles, referred to as annotations, that gather all of the cases on a fairly narrow topic

Annotated Materials

  • Contain research references
  • Contain citations to other cases, statutes, administrative rules/regulations, forms, and law review and journal articles.
  • Always use annotated materials if they are available
  • Annotated Codes - case notes give a brief discussion of cases which site particular statutes. Look at the other references as well. If you have access to another annotated set take the time to look at it. While there may be a lot of overlap or duplication between sets there will be unique references.
    • Print (all available in the Law Library's Reference area)
      • U.S. Code Annotated (USCA)
      • U.S. Code Service (USCS)
      • Official Code of Georgia (OCGA)
      • West’s Code of Georgia Annotated

Deep Web

The Deep Web is generally defined as information you cannot find using general search engines. This includes things like:

  • Individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspaper databases
  • Statistical information such as weather data, population, and city demographics found in databases
  • Public records on people and businesses
  • Online library catalogs

It's the information at least one layer below the information retrieved in a Google or Yahoo search. One way to get a little deeper is to query multiple search engines. They do not index information in the same way or even include the same sites. Use the search engine advanced searching and filtering options and read the search tips and take advantage of the help information at each search engine site.

There are also web directories, portals, and specialized search engine site that pull together various hidden databases and resources.

  • Collections of reference sources (dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotes, thesauruses)
  • FindLaw - find free legal information across multiple websites
  • Wolfram/Alpha -  a computational knowledge engine that provides answers to questions and calculations
  • Directory of Open Access Journals - indexes and provides access to high-quality, open-access, peer-reviewed journals
  • MagPortal - search for free online magazine articles across many topics
  • Archival Information
    • Internet Archive - dedicated to building and maintaining a free and openly accessible digital library
    • Wayback Machine - search the history of billions of web pages and find old websites as they existed at various points in time

Organizations and Advocacy Groups

Center for Climate Change Law, Columbia Law School

Conservation Law - articles and presentations by lawyer Jessica E. Jay

  • When Perpetual Is Not Forever: The Challenge of Changing Conditions, Amendment, and Termination of Perpetual Conservation Easements, 36 Harv. Envtl. L. Rev. 1 (2012)
  • An Update, 37 Harv. Envtl. L. Rev.247 (2013)

Environmental Law Institute

Georgetown Climate Center - resources for state and federal policy

Harvard Project on Climate Agreement, John F. Kennedy School of Government

Land Use Law - Maintained by Professor Daniel Mandelker, the site provides recent cases of national significance and articles on current hot topics.

National Center for Preservation Technology and Training - advances the application of science and technology to historic preservation.  Working in the fields of archeology, architecture, landscape architecture and materials conservation, the Center accomplishes its mission through training, education, research, technology transfer and partnerships.

NYU School of Law, Guarini Center for Environmental, Energy and Land Use Law

Pace University Law School

SignLaw - A website that focuses on the law of signs, billboards, outdoor advertising, public forum and related topics.

Sustainable Community Development Code, University of Denver, Sturm College of Law - a framework for local governments to include sustainability ideas in land use laws

United Nations

Urban Land Institute

Urbanicity (formerly Urban Cities) - A portal with a particularly extensive collection of current articles

Vermont Journal of Environmental Law - Top Ten Environmental Watch List

Advocacy and Membership Organizations

Blogs and News

              
ABA Required Disclosures  |  Contact Us  |  Sitemap  |  University of Georgia  |  Non-Discrimination Policy  |  Text-Only Version
The University of Georgia School of Law    225 Herty Drive    Athens, GA 30602-6012    (706) 542-5191
Copyright 2016, University of Georgia School of Law.  All rights reserved.