Skip to main content

Researching Treaties in the UGA Law Library: Treaties by Subject

UGA Law Library Reference

Selected Collections of Treaties & Treaty Indexes by Subject

Air & Aviation

Air & Aviation Treaties of the World. Compiled by S. Houston Lay. London; New York: Oceana Publications, 1984- [location: K4093 .A35 1984 - Balc]. Loose-leaf set. Includes index.

Armed Conflict

The Laws of Armed Conflicts: A Collection of Conventions, Resolutions, and Other Documents, 3rd ed. Edited by Dietrich Schindler and Jiri Toman. Dordrecht, The Netherlands: Nijhoff; Norwell, MA, USA: Kluwer Academic Publishers [distributor], 1988 [location: JX4505 .L38 1988 - Base].Groups full-texts of multilateral conventions on the law of armed conflicts into chapters (e.g. air warfare, victims of war, neutrality). Includes list of reproduced documents in chronological order. Extensive indexing by subject.


ENTRI Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators.  The ENTRI database provides treaty texts and status data for environmental treaties. Maintained by the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center at Columbia University.
International Protection of the Environment: Treaties and Related Documents
. Compiled and edited by Bernd Rüster and Bruno Simma. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana Publications, 1991- [location: K3581.3 .A1 I452 - Balc]. First series is multi-volume bound set covering international environmental law from late 18th C. to 1980; second series is multi-volume looseleaf set covering 1980 to present. Includes subject index.

Selected Multilateral Treaties in the Field of the Environment. Edited by Alexandre Charles Kiss. Nairobi: United Nations Environment Programme, 1983-91 [location: K3583 .S45 1983 - Balc]. Provides full text of international conventions concerning the protection of the environment. Vol. 1 covers agreements to 1979, and vol. 2 contains agreements adopted between 1979 and December 15, 1990. Includes chronological and subject indexes.

Foreign Investment

Bilateral Investment Treaties. New York: United Nations, 1988 & 1992 [location: K3830.4 .B55 - Balc]. 1988 volume includes bibliography and text of selected treaties. Provides list of bilateral promotion and protection treaties concluded up to mid-1988. 1992 volume includes text of selected treaties and list of bilateral investment treaties concluded up to mid-1991.

Investment Promotion and Protection Treaties. Compiled by International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes. London; New York: Oceana Publications, 1983- [location: K1112 .A35 I58 - Balc]. Contents arranged chronologically, beginning in 1960. Includes index.

Human Rights

Human Rights: A Compilation of International Instruments. New York: United Nations, 1993 [location: K3238 H85 1993 - Balc]. Contains documents adopted up to March 31, 1993. Includes list of instruments in chronological order of adoption.

Human Rights Library Web Site at University of Minnesota. URL = Contains a collection of over 14,450 human rights documents, including numerous treaties and related instruments. Organized by subject matter and searchable by key word.

International Conventions on Protection of Humanity and Environment. Edited by Gunter Hoog and Angela Steinmetz. Berlin and New York: W. de Gruyter, 1993. [location: K3238 .I58 1993 - Balc] Compilation of multilateral treaties open to universal subscription and "intended to safeguard certain human interests: basic human rights, humanitarian needs in armed conflicts, and the human environment."

International Human Rights Instruments: A Compilation of Treaties, Agreements and Declarations of Especial Interest to the United States, 2d ed. Edited by Richard B. Lillich. Buffalo, NY: W.S. Hein Co., 1990- [location: K3238 .A1 I5362 - Balc]. Looseleaf set. Includes reservations and declarations. Substitutes extracts and summaries for some documents. Includes lists of States Parties as of January 1, 1990.

Refugees and International Law: Documents. Collected by Benjamin Mulamba-Mbuyi. Scarborough, Ont.: Carswell, 1993 [location: JX4292 .R44 1993 - Base].Contains full text of treaties and other international instruments relating to refugees. Includes comments, bibliographies and a glossary ("lexicon"). Indexed by subject and by States Parties.

Intellectual Property

Copyright and Neighboring Rights Laws and Treaties. Geneva: World Intellectual Property Organization, 1987- [location: K1411.2 .C663 - Balc]. Collection of national laws and regulations, bilateral, regional and multilateral treaties regarding copyright and neighboring rights. Content continued online at WIPO Web site.

Industrial Property Laws & Treaties. [location: K1500 .A13 I533 - Balc]. Collection of national laws and regulations, bilateral, regional and multilateral treaties in the field of industrial property. Content continued online at WIPO Web site.

Intellectual Property Laws & Treaties. Geneva: World Intellectual Property Organization, 1998 - 2001 [location: K1401 .A35 I56 - Balc]. Collection of national laws and regulations, bilateral, regional and multilateral treaties in the area of intellectual property. Ceased print publication in January 2002, but content continued online at WIPO Web site.

International Treaties on Intellectual Property. Edited by Marshall A. Leaffer. Washington, DC: Bureau of National Affairs, 1990 & 1997 [location: K1504.15 .W6 - Balc]. Includes bibliography and index.

World Patent Law and Practice: Patent Statutes, Regulations, and Treaties. Compiled by John P. Sinnott. New York: Matthew Bender, 1974-87. Looseleaf set. Indexed by country and treaty name.

Law of the Sea

The Law of the Sea: Multilateral Treaties Relevant to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. New York: Office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for the Law of the Sea: United Nations, 1985 [location: JX4408 .L396 1985 - Base].Lists treaties chronologically and by subject. No text. 

United Nations. The Division for Ocean Affairs and Law of the Sea provides access to the text of the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea and related agreements and documents.


International Tax Treaties of All Nations. Edited by Walter H. Diamond and Dorothy B. Diamond. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana, 1975 [location: K4473 .I58 - Balc]. Title page asserts that this set contains English language texts of all tax treaties between two or more nations in force on July 1, 1975, and it is updated by cumulative supplements.

RIA Worldwide Tax Law. This subscription database, linked from the Law Library's Research Resources page, provides access to U.S. Tax Treaties in Force along with other worldwide tax materials.

Tax Treaties. Chicago: Commerce Clearing House, 1965- [location: KF6306 .U72]. Includes full text of U.S. treaties with foreign countries covering income and estate taxes. Arranged alphabetically. Includes annotations and regulations, current reports of new developments, finding lists, and index.

Worldwide Tax Treaty Index. Arlington, VA: Tax Analysts, 1993- [location: K4473 .W67 - Balc]. Lists over 1,000 tax treaties, agreements, protocols and similar documents. Includes list of legislative history documents for United States treaties. Provides citations to online and microfiche database resources. Contains country index.


Basic Documents of International Economic Law. Edited by Stephen Zamora and Ronald A. Brand. Chicago: Commerce Clearing House, 1990 [location: K3820 .A35 B37 1990 - Balc]. Includes full-text of international agreements and documents relating to international economic law, up to November 1989. In addition, introductory essays and selective bibliographies accompany each document [also available on Lexis (INTLAW library, BDIEL file), with updates, for law school students and faculty only].

Basic Documents on International Trade Law, 2d rev. ed. Edited by Chia-Jui Cheng. Dordrecht, The Netherlands: Martinus Nijhoff, 1990 [location: K1003 .B37 1990 - Balc]. Appendices include full text of selected trade treaties.

LEXIS - INTLAW Library, GATT and NAFTA files [available to law school students and faculty only].

North American Free Trade Agreements. Compiled and edited by James R. Holbein and Donald J. Musch. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana, 1992- [location: KDZ944 .A41992 N67 - Base]. Vols. 1 & 2 contain texts of treaties and related documents (e.g., national laws relevant to NAFTA).

Treaties and International Documents Used in International Trade Law. Compiled by Alain Prujiner. Montreal: Wilson & Lafleur, 1992 [location: K1003 .T73 1992 - Balc]. In French and English. Selected instruments are divided into sections on "international contract" and "international dispute." Indexed by topic and title.

WESTLAW - GATT and NAFTA databases [available to law school students and faculty only]

World Trade Organization - The WTO site provides access to the Uruguay Round agreements along with additional documents in Legal Texts - WTO Agreements. The WTO site also provides  pre-WTO agreements, including the GATT.

ABA Required Disclosures  |  Contact Us  |  Sitemap  |  University of Georgia  |  Non-Discrimination Policy  |  Text-Only Version
The University of Georgia School of Law    225 Herty Drive    Athens, GA 30602-6012    (706) 542-5191
Copyright 2016, University of Georgia School of Law.  All rights reserved.