Skip to main content

Researching Treaties in the UGA Law Library: U.S. Treaties

UGA Law Library Reference

United States Treaties

This section includes resources containing the texts or indexes for treaties to which the U.S. is a participant  - Section III below includes resources on multilateral or bilateral treaties to which the U.S. may or may not be a party)

Texts of United States Treaties (see next subsection for indexes)

Consolidated Treaties & International Agreements. Compiled and edited by Oceana Editorial Board. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991- KZ 235.5 U55 - Basement
Publishes U.S. treaties and international agreements rapidly after release or ratification and is considerably more current than the official publications. Arranged by Department of State number. Includes topical and country indexes, a list of multilateral agreements, and a list of treaties cited in subsequent treaties.

Hein Online's Treaties and Agreements Library.
This library includes online access to the Statutes at Large, United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST), Treaties and International Act Series (TIAS), KAV Agreements, and several unofficial treaty sources.

Hein's United States Treaties and Other International Agreements Current Service. Buffalo, NY: W.S. Hein, 1990- [microform]
MFC H439 - Annex - 1
Unofficial publication containing recent U.S. treaties and agreements. Much more current than the official set; items not yet assigned a TIAS number are assigned the set's KAV numbers. Includes cumulative index.

LEXIS - Contains U.S. treaties since 1776 [available to law school students and faculty only].

Statutes at Large (Stat.)
no call #  - shelved near the U.S. codes on Main Floor
Prior to 1950, the official site for publication of U.S. treaties. Includes international agreements from 1932. Vol. 8 includes all treaties between the United States and foreign nations from 1778 to 1845. Vol. 7 includes all treaties between the U.S. and Native Americans from 1778 to 1845.

Treaties and Other International Act Series (TIAS). Washington, DC: US Government Printing Office, 1946-
KZ235.32 .U55 - Basement
Contains the official slip versions of U.S. treaties, each of which is assigned a number (e.g. TIAS 12075). Later bound into United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST). Lag time is considerable -- well over 10 years.

Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America 1776-1949. Compiled under the direction of Charles I. Bevans. Washington, D.C.: Department of State, 1968
KZ 236 1968 - Basement
Multi-volume set. Multilateral agreements are arranged chronologically; bilateral agreements are arranged by country. Includes indexes, headnotes and some annotations.

United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST). Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of State, 1950- [Location:  KZ235.3 .U55 - Base; also in microfiche at MFC H439]. The official bound set of U.S. treaties and agreements since 1949. The arrangement is numerical by TIAS numbers. Includes country and subject indexes. Huge publication lag time - currently 15+ years.

Unperfected Treaties of the United States, 1776-1976. Edited by C. Wiktor. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana Publications, 1976
JX236 I776 .U56 - Basement
Includes legislative history and commentary.

Westlaw. Contains U.S. treaties since 1778. [available to law school students and faculty only].

Indexes to U.S. Treaties

Current Treaty Index. Compiled by Igor Kavass and Adolf Sprudzs. Buffalo, NY: W.S. Hein, 1982- [location: KZ 235 C87 - Base]. Cumulatively indexes United States slip treaties and agreements, thereby supplementing United States Treaty Index: 1776-1990 Consolidation.

A Guide to the United States Treaties in Force. Igor Kavass and Adolf Sprudzs. Buffalo, NY: W.S. Hein, 1982- [location: KZ 235 G85 - Base]. Indexes United States treaties currently in force by number, subject, date, and country.

Treaties in Force [location: KZ 235 T74 - Base; most recent year on Res]. Lists current United States treaties. Lists bilateral agreements alphabetically by country and within broad subject categories. Lists multilateral agreements by subject (note: the subject categories in the bilateral agreements section do not always correspond exactly with the subject categories in the multilateral agreements section). Current edition available on Lexis and Westlaw.

United States Treaty Index: 1776-2000 Consolidation. Compiled and edited by Igor I. Kavass. Buffalo, NY: W.S. Hein, 1991 [location: KZ 235 .U5 1991 - Base]. Indexes all treaties and agreements entered into by the United States from 1776 to 2000. Includes chronological, country and subject indexes. Supplemented by Current Treaty Index. Replaced UST Cumulative Index.

UST Cumulative Index. Compiled by Igor Kavass and Adolf Sprudzs. Buffalo, NY: Hein, 1971/75- [location: JX231 .A3422 - Base].Replaced by United States Treaty Index: 1776-1990 Consolidation.

University of Georgia Law LibraryUniversity of Georgia  |  Non-Discrimination Policy  |  Privacy Policy  | Contact Site Administrator 
225 Herty Drive Athens, GA 30602-6012 | (706) 542-5077 | Copyright 2018, University of Georgia School of Law.  All rights reserved.